Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-12-2016, 16:01   #1

Boat: Peterson/Formosa 46 "Hoopoe III"
Puerto La Cruz to ?

I am looking at a boat to purchase in Puerto La Cruz Venezuela. I am not in the country at the moment and still preparing to negotiate the buying of the boat. I have no experience with Venezuela but much experience with the the caribbean from Tortola to Trinidad. What are the conditions to be expected for a quick departure from La Cruz to anywhere north allowing a favourable sail with Bequia as the final destination. obviously time of year will be a deciding factor. What is the present situation in Puerto La Cruz with respect to other parts of Venezuela and could one consider spending some time there in order to prepare an idle vessel for a passage. Is it safe in other words? I am presently in Hong Kong with my boat for sale.
zoombats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 17:15   #2

Boat: Outbound 44
Re: Puerto La Cruz to ?

Any chance you could take delivery in Bonaire, Curacao or T-dad? Venezuela is not a place I would consider going in its current state.
Old 28-12-2016, 18:11   #3

I live in PLC. Where is the boat? Very tricky dealing with the authorities here and it can be very expensive. Also many armed robberies. People are watching and you would be a target. You could inspect the boat in PLC if you had to but then fly to Trini and insist the owner deliver her to you in Trini after clearing the boat properly into Trini. Lots of boats in venezuela don't have the proper paperwork or even if they do clearing out can be problematic.
John Holbrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 18:34   #4

Boat: Planet, Earth LOA∞

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Holbrook View Post