Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-02-2008, 05:28   #1

New, with Question About Venezuela (Puerto la Cruz) to Martinique in June

Hello, I am new to your quite informative community. Thank you for the site.
I have a immediately a question to all you Caribbean Cruisers that I will post here, but possibly also under a proper heading:

I am going to deliver a yacht from Venezuela (Puerto la Cruz) to Europe via Azores and Bermuda beginning 1st June this year with a couple of friends. The problem is that we should pick up one of the crew from somewhere on the way north in the Caribbean around 15th and have been looking at possible airplane tickets/destinations for this person from Europe (we are all coming from Finland).
There are quite good deals for e.g. Martinique/Fort de France (as well as this seems like a nice place) but this is a bit against the prevailing winds and currents from Venezuela according to the general image in e.g. US Pilot charts.

Are there any opinions on the "sport factor" of the leg Venezuela (Puerto la Cruz) - Fort de France in June? Is this going to be tacking all the way against the wind and current, or could we manage this with less pain (i.e. close hauled?)? Should we instead opt to pick up the guy from somewhere less upwind e.g. Puerto Rico/Dominican Republic to preserve good moods aboard? We are aware that this a bit late in the season and that more west=more hurricane danger so this complicates the mathematics a bit.
Thanks in advance!
Flying Finn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2008, 05:58   #2