Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Atlantic & the Caribbean
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2023, 04:45   #1

Boat: Farr 50 Pilothouse
Entering north Man-o-war channel at night

I'm leaving charleston tomorrow morning, hopefully by 11am, heading east south east through the gulf stream and then turning south towards man-o-war cay. I have a deep draft (8.5ft) and this is my first time to the bahamas. I'm hoping to arrive wednesday evening, I expect in the dark. I'm going to try to make enough easting to come at the channel slightly from the east, so the building winds are more aft of me. But even though I would normally try to slow down to approach in the daylight, I'd like to get in behind the cay before the wind/weather gets nasty Thursday morning.

I will enter the north man-o-war channel and tuck behind the cay and anchor near corn bay in 10ft+. Is there anything that I should watch out for/be aware of? Is this a terrible plan?
Muaddib1116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2023, 05:14   #2

Re: Entering north Man-o-war channel at night

Aside from the poor advisability of entering a new-to-you narrow cut in the dark, you don’t mention the primary risk along these north facing inlets in the Bahamas. It is actually not the local weather, but rather large swells arriving from distant North Atlantic storms. They set up conditions the locals, very aptly, call a “Rage”.