Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2021, 22:58   #1

Boat: Catalina 30
Wiring upgrade case study

I’m in the midst of installing new solar and instruments on my Catalina, and I’m finding a bunch of things I’m concerned about. Rather than posting a bunch of threads, I though it might me helpful to others if I documented my progress if some knowledgeable folks are willing to weigh in. I have read through Nigel Calder, and I’m generally knowledgeable about electrical circuits, but I have no experience with marine systems.

Let me start with a general picture of my panel and batteries. As you can see, the wiring is not terribly rats-nesty, but it could be better. Some concerns I have (as in, things I’m assuming need fixing) to begin with are:

1. There are no fuses on wires coming off the batteries, just on the panel.
2. It seems the DC negative is grounded to the AC ground. At least, I see continuity between my DC negatives and the black wires on the bottom of the panel, which are part of the AC. There is a big bus with green and white wires you can see behind the panel, but I can’t figure out where it connects.
3. The AC also not physically isolated, i.e., I can get to the wires without a screwdriver. FWIW, the AC is not a priority, as I do not currently use it (no inverter, no access to shore power).