Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2020, 08:28   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Raritan Bay
Boat: Hanse 320
Posts: 55
Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Hello, I am using OpenCPN to plot my course and then "send to GPS" to send to my B&G Vulcan 9 plotter. OCPN is connected to ShipModul via USB and B&G is on the NMEA2000 network. When sending the route/waypoints, they show up on B&G with wrong coordinates. They are all with the same lat/log and far far away from where the way points are on OCPN. I am guessing that ShipModul is incorrectly converting something along the way. Has anyone had anything similar to this?
vechnyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 09:30   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 842
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Look at the data formats. I think OpenCPN sends everything in D.ddd format. If your GPS is treating the incoming data as D M S or some other format, could that explain the difference? Does your GPS have a way to specify the format for incoming coordinate data?


Fabbian
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 11:31   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Other people's boats
Posts: 324
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Quote:
Originally Posted by vechnyak View Post
They are all with the same lat/log and far far away from where the way points are on OCPN.
What precisely do you mean by this? If you select the points on the plotter, do they show as the exact same coordinates on both devices, or are they simply in a similar relative relation to each other? How far off are they? Are we talking 180 m or 18,000 miles?

Same relative positions but offset by ~180 m implies a datum difference or chart discrepancy. Offsets by tens of miles imply a position format error. Offsets by thousands of miles implies a sign error (e.g. confusing East with West longitude values).

If the position coordinates are identical, that is a corresponding point shows e.g. "36 48.2' N 123 12.5' W" on both devices, you probably have a datum error or a chart discrepancy. Checking against a 3rd party source that allows switching your datum can help identify this.

Can you share an example pair of coordinates for a distinctive location?
requiem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 16:42   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Raritan Bay
Boat: Hanse 320
Posts: 55
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Quote:
Originally Posted by requiem View Post
What precisely do you mean by this? If you select the points on the plotter, do they show as the exact same coordinates on both devices, or are they simply in a similar relative relation to each other? How far off are they? Are we talking 180 m or 18,000 miles?

Same relative positions but offset by ~180 m implies a datum difference or chart discrepancy. Offsets by tens of miles imply a position format error. Offsets by thousands of miles implies a sign error (e.g. confusing East with West longitude values).

If the position coordinates are identical, that is a corresponding point shows e.g. "36 48.2' N 123 12.5' W" on both devices, you probably have a datum error or a chart discrepancy. Checking against a 3rd party source that allows switching your datum can help identify this.

Can you share an example pair of coordinates for a distinctive location?
Right now I dont have example on hand to show. However, I am able to answer some of your questions. The offset is not the same for every waypoint. All waypoints are all the north and are all the same. My first impression would be it is north of canada but like I said, i will check.

In terms of what exactly I am doing, I select a route, then click "send to GPS", after it is done the same number of way points appear on the B&G plotter but their coordinates are all the same all off.
vechnyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 16:51   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 20,026
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

I do not know how this happens but I had the same challenge some time back. Keep on digging, there is a solution.


b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:43   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 675
Images: 1
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Try using something like GPS Babel to send co-ords directly to the B&G if that works its OpenCPN software if not it is the B&G hardware.
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 07:17   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Raritan Bay
Boat: Hanse 320
Posts: 55
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tupaia View Post
Try using something like GPS Babel to send co-ords directly to the B&G if that works its OpenCPN software if not it is the B&G hardware.
Great suggestion, thanks! I downloaded GPSBabel and it looks like it supports quite a few formats for output. Do you think I should select basic NMEA 0183 or something different?
vechnyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 07:31   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Raritan Bay
Boat: Hanse 320
Posts: 55
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Sorry it's been a while but I was able to test and get some more info. GPSbabel is not able to communicate with the plotter. Tried different settings and played with baud rate but nothing seem to work.

Click image for larger version

Name:	GPSBabel.PNG
Views:	13
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	221457

on the B&G side I took a picture of the screen with all the waypoints and their coordinates. They are all the same lat/long.

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200816_170337_capture.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	321.8 KB
ID:	221458

My "connection" settings

Click image for larger version

Name:	OCPN_conn.PNG
Views:	13
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	221461

Im also attaching the gpx file in case someone could tell if there are any issues with that.

Delivery.gpx Views: 1 Size: 17.9 KB ">CS33-IRJDSUNE9932123321222xxeww-Delivery.gpx


Thank You everyone as always!
vechnyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 08:07   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 20,026
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Why gpx?


Why not a plain waypoint export?


Your gpx has not attached. Or I cannot retrieve it. PLS make sure it attached.


barnakiel
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 08:10   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 20,026
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Long long ago exporting from MaxSea to Garmin I had zero problems, I believe also fro OpenCPN to Garmin (both n183, not N2K).


It is unlikely OpenCPN sside problem, it will be something along the way where your likely correct OCPN output gets twisted by the gadgets in-between.


Your Vulcan gizmo will not accept n183??? No way?



barnakiel
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 08:14   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 20,026
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Is this BG longitude correct?


Or are both lat long incorrect. I can see lat has been scrambled. You are not posting from the Pole, eh?


Reading Vulcan manual now.


b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 08:17   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Raritan Bay
Boat: Hanse 320
Posts: 55
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Why gpx?


Why not a plain waypoint export?


Your gpx has not attached. Or I cannot retrieve it. PLS make sure it attached.


barnakiel
Sorry, could you please clarify how I can do plain waypoint export? I could be doing something wrong in OPCN but when I click export, only option is GPX.

I renamed the file to remove space in the name and re-attachged. hopefully it will work.

CS33Delivery.gpx
vechnyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 08:21   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Raritan Bay
Boat: Hanse 320
Posts: 55
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Long long ago exporting from MaxSea to Garmin I had zero problems, I believe also fro OpenCPN to Garmin (both n183, not N2K).


It is unlikely OpenCPN sside problem, it will be something along the way where your likely correct OCPN output gets twisted by the gadgets in-between.


Your Vulcan gizmo will not accept n183??? No way?

barnakiel
The multiplexer is a ShipModul little unit. My version has USB/NMEA2000/NMEA183. It does conversions all 3 ways. Im using USB because OCPN is on Windows 10 laptop.
vechnyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 08:29   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 20,026
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Quote:
Originally Posted by vechnyak View Post
Hello, I am using OpenCPN to plot my course and then "send to GPS" to send to my B&G Vulcan 9 plotter. OCPN is connected to ShipModul via USB and B&G is on the NMEA2000 network. When sending the route/waypoints, they show up on B&G with wrong coordinates. They are all with the same lat/log and far far away from where the way points are on OCPN. I am guessing that ShipModul is incorrectly converting something along the way. Has anyone had anything similar to this?

Signle wpt. A single wpt?


You get the same error?


barnakiel
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2020, 08:33   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Raritan Bay
Boat: Hanse 320
Posts: 55
Re: Send to GPS shows as wrong coordinates on B&G

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Signle wpt. A single wpt?


You get the same error?


barnakiel
Havnt tried this. Will do
vechnyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No GPS connected, but $ECRMC shows GPS Position? Dos OpenCPN 6 30-04-2019 15:06
GPS Coordinates of Channel Markers mcerdos Navigation 13 05-09-2018 10:57
Using "Send to GPS" to send via IP? jim326 OpenCPN 10 30-03-2016 17:41
Providing GPS coordinates for website tracking NieSupporter Navigation 6 29-06-2012 11:43

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.