Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2022, 14:02   #1

OpenCPN 5.6.2 Android. Chart Groups help needed.

I could use some help with chart groups on two android devices. I'm new to using chart groups but not OpenCPN. I thought I'd go through the learning process with setting up a small group for my home port of Oak Harbor Washington. At some zoom levels when using raster charts an adjacent chart's title area will cover the entrance. The intended chart group will be two RNC charts and one ENC chart.

OpenCPN 5.6.2 is running on a Samsung Galaxy Tab A7 and a Samsung A12 phone
Android 11
I'm using NOAA RNC and ENC charts.

The base installation of OpenCPN on both runs fine and has been running fine on previous versions.

I've read through the threads here on chart directory locations in 5.6.2 on Android and the help on Chart Groups at https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...art_groups_tab.

The process I've tried is

1 – Create a new folder for the charts in the group using X-plore file manager. Also attempted with File Manager +. Both apps are able to create the directory.

Charts are in OpenCPN's directory on the SD card to save space on the tablet's internal storage. 1FB0-E355 is the name of the SD card.

The main chart directory is:
/storage/1FB0-E355/Android/Data/org.opencpn.opencpn/files/Charts

In that directory are sub directories for all RNC and all ENC charts as well as the sub directory for the new group chart files.

/storage/1FB0-E355/Android/Data/org.opencpn.opencpn/files/Charts/RNC
/storage/1FB0-E355/Android/Data/org.opencpn.opencpn/files/Charts/ENC