Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-04-2021, 14:07   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 11
Issue with arrival radius

I'm using the "Navigate to here" right click option on a waypoint. I've gone into the ship settings and set the arrival radius to the minimum value of 0.001 nm. Still the route disappears when I come to the usual default distance of 0.05 nm. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
bchad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2021, 06:47   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: oriental
Boat: crowther trimaran 33
Posts: 3,777
Re: Issue with arrival radius

the concept of arrival radius is in my opinion not a good one.


I developed the autopilot route plugin which uses alternate algorithm to follow routes and needs no arrival radius while also following the route more closely in a few cases.
seandepagnier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2021, 15:27   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,093
Re: Issue with arrival radius

Do others have this problem? If so, it is a bug.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2021, 17:37   #4
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,256
Re: Issue with arrival radius

bchad...
Please describe exactly the series of steps taken to produce this issue.
Are you selecting a stand-alone waypoint, or a waypoint that is part of a route?


Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2021, 17:00   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,093
Re: Issue with arrival radius

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Do others have this problem? If so, it is a bug.
I didn't finish the thought. Which was this has been around a long time and if there was a bug, it would have been fixed.


It seems to remain active in Windows10 version 5.2.4 even when own boat is so close that you can hardly see it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (153).jpg
Views:	12
Size:	250.8 KB
ID:	237366   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (154).jpg
Views:	11
Size:	241.8 KB
ID:	237367  

rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2021, 17:20   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,256
Re: Issue with arrival radius

Rick...
Not sure what your point is, but I note:
1. The console shows a range of 0.06 mi. Is this wrong?


Are you confirming or refuting the bug?

Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2021, 17:25   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,093
Re: Issue with arrival radius

I believe the range is right because I zoomed in as far as possible (could not zoom in further).
After using Right click Navigate to here, I found I was able to grab the boat end and move it towards the buoy, so it was quite close.


I think it is working correctly, but I suppose I should run a VDR file to really determine, or is what I did acceptable?
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2021, 17:39   #8
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,093
Re: Issue with arrival radius

My Waypoint arrival distance was set at .05 so I redid the experiment and moved the boat to within 0.35 at which point the Console Disappeared which is exactly what I would expect in the case of a single leg.



Is that how it is supposed to work?
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2021, 07:19   #9
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,256
Re: Issue with arrival radius

Rick...
Yes, that is correct for default arrival radius of 0.05 mi.
The OP's point is that if the radius is changed to something smaller (.001), it still acts as though the default 0.05 is in effect.
Perhaps experiment on those lines.


Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2021, 18:17   #10
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,093
Re: Issue with arrival radius

Answer: Set Arrival Radius at .001 Then Use Navigate to. Then progressively move towards the WP in 3 steps. The last step the Console disappears and so does active route.


I don't know if this should be considered a bug. Who would set arrival radius to .001!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (160).jpg
Views:	4
Size:	350.6 KB
ID:	237410   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (161).jpg
Views:	6
Size:	344.9 KB
ID:	237411  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (162).jpg
Views:	4
Size:	229.5 KB
ID:	237412  
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2021, 03:42   #11
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,093
Re: Issue with arrival radius

Dave, the results above were from Ov5.2.4 Win10. This morning I tried using Ubuntu 18.04 Ov5.5 and the results were better. I got within 8.2m and the console window stayed up. This is with a normal arrival radius of .05
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (168).jpg
Views:	6
Size:	274.5 KB
ID:	237423   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (170).jpg
Views:	4
Size:	280.1 KB
ID:	237424  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (171).jpg
Views:	3
Size:	279.0 KB
ID:	237425   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (172).jpg
Views:	3
Size:	268.8 KB
ID:	237426  

rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light ring radius nkiesel OpenCPN 0 13-08-2017 16:16
Edson radial steering quadrant 10" radius tomtriad Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 0 11-06-2015 08:47
Anchor Alarm Radius? gbanker Navigation 26 21-11-2013 10:32
Help - Advice With Radius Chine Plating milly Construction, Maintenance & Refit 9 29-08-2012 21:28
Hard vs Multi vs Radius vs Round Bilge Chine dreamer38851 Monohull Sailboats 21 08-12-2010 05:55

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.