Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2020, 14:43   #1

Is this a good price for a Laser?

Hello All,

I am new to sailing and am considering taking the small vessel route to learn to sail and gauge the enjoyment before making any costly decisions. I've been keeping up with the debate between classes and "just get out there and sale". I will probably do a little of both but just get out there first.

So this 2015 Laser popped up for $4250.

https://charlotte.craigslist.org/boa...137537802.html

What do you guys think?
Carolina Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 15:12   #2

Boat: 1979 Bristol 35.5 CB
Re: Is this a good price for a Laser?

Great idea to start with a small boat. Laser is a great choice. Many think a 48 foot cat is a good starter.

I would suggest getting a beater for less than $1000. Sails nearly as well unless you are racing. Scratches (there will be some) aren't such a concern, and you can sell more easily when you change to something different. You might also consider a sloop rigged something.
sanibel sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 19:09   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanibel sailor View Post
I would suggest getting a beater for less than $1000. Sails nearly as well unless you are racing. Scratches (there will be some) aren't such a concern, and you can sell more easily when you change to something different. You might also consider a sloop rigged something.
Hey John,

Thanks for the reply. When you mentioned a rigged sloop what type(s) did you have in mind? These seems like a smart idea. Seems like the experience would better translate into a bigger boat or ocean cruiser.
Old 09-06-2020, 20:48   #4

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar