Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Anchoring & Mooring
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-08-2016, 19:35   #1

Bruce vs Danforth.. Need some advise

Hello all,

Unfortunately, I've found myself in need of a new anchor in short order. I know this subject has been beat to death, but I'm hoping I can get some opinions on my particular situation.

I have a 29ft foot sailboat, weighs about 7000lbs. The anchor that came with it was a 10ish pound danforth. I have found this to be far too small and in anything over 5-7kts I find I drag quite a bit.

I'm looking to buy an anchor that is going to be over kill.. I'm fairly new to sailing and am starting to do overnights on anchor and this anchor is just not cutting it.

I have the options of buying either a danforth or bruce anchor. Either in 33lb or 44lbs.

In my local area the bottom conditions are sandy/mud with lots of seaweed cover. The areas where I plan on visiting shortly are more muddy/clay with rocks.

Thoughts?
ElCapt Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 20:21   #2

Boat: 1992 lagoon 42 tpi
Re: Bruce vs Danforth.. Need some advise

I cant seem to grab the link with my phone, so go to anchoring section and click on videos of anchors setting. He has done a great job of showing how,each anchor sets and holds.

Of the two, i would choose danforth, but I wouldn't buy either. online you can order any anchor out there. Why limit your choices?
chris mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 20:24   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris mac View Post