Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-01-2013, 09:15   #1

Boat: 1988 Heritage East Sundeck 36'
Boat Handling

Are there any programs for learning to handle a twin engine trawler? I have extensive single engine experience but just purchased a 36' twin screw trawler & would prefer to feel more confident prior to first trip from dock.
moonchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 09:21   #2
CF Adviser

Boat: 14 meter sloop
Re: Boat Handling

One of the local dealers here in SF Bay runs a trawler school. Tell us where you're located, and someone might be able to point you in the right direction.
Old 17-01-2013, 09:36   #3

Located in Marathon, Fl.
Old 18-01-2013, 07:03   #4

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonchaser View Post
Are there any programs for learning to handle a twin engine trawler? I have extensive single engine experience but just purchased a 36' twin screw trawler & would prefer to feel more confident prior to first trip from dock.

Don't know about programs in the application software sense, but there are boat handling schools scattered around the country. Or you could hire a captain to come aboard, give you some pointers.

FWIW, you already know how to do it. Everything you know about single-screw docking still works... but now you can use one engine to bump the stern one direction, the other to do the other.

For a stern-to docking situation, imagine two "parallel" arcs, or parentheses if you like: ( )

Port engine drives the port side arc, using forward or reverse. Starboard engine drive the starboard side arc, ditto. IOW, prop walk works as with a single, but now you have two directions of that to make use of.