Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2019, 12:47   #1

Videographer with an idea

Hello all, my name is Conrad, I am a videographer from Cape Town, and for the last few years I have had this idea burrowing in my head...

I have spent the majority of my life surrounded by water, I enjoy surfing, free diving, and worked on cruise ships for the better part of 8 years.

I have been back from my cruise work for 6 years now and I have this urge to travel and be free to explore this blue marble.

I have sailed many times before with friends and have never really been interested in learning largely due to the fact that my face was buried in a camera for most of my 20’s.

Ok, on to the idea... I WANT TO BUY A BOAT AND TRAVEL FOREVER!

I am here to get some tips, read some forums and do a few years of research before I decide anything. I look forward to reading some posts! Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, even the basics, ie some good books to read on the topic, good places to get sailing lessons, all that jazz!

😎
Conradb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 13:16   #2

Boat: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 40.3
Re: Videographer with an idea

I don't have any tips or suggestions, but as a retired commercial Director/Cinematographer, I have some questions for you to ask yourself.

If you are not of independent means, how will you support your endeavors? Will you be doing this alone, which presents its own challenges, or will you have others with you?

Are you interested in commercializing your work, or will you do it for its own sake? Will it be instructional, documentary, or story-telling?