Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2010, 16:25   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to wllmtlsn
Hello to All

My name is William Tolson but I go by Billy. I am 28 yrs. old and have found love of the open waters. I am fairly new to sailing and have only been on a sail boat 9 times. 7 of these ventures were only in the bays around the DC coastal area. the other 2 were in the Florida Keys from Boca Chica Naval Station. I am looking for a way to find a career in sailing. I plan on one day being able to purchase my own boat but in the meantime would like the chance to crew on other boats so that I may gain some experience while working my way to my goals. This is a lifetime goal and I am dedicated to reaching it. I am physically and mentally capable of handling any tasks asked of me and have no problems whatsoever taking orders from anyone or receiving constructional criticism. Any and all advice is welcome. In the meantime I will be studying everything I can find on Sailing and SailBoats.
wllmtlsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 18:08   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Have you considered a maritime academy? Starting out with a third mates license and a four college degree would be a big help. You will need a license anyway if you want to be a master or mate on a larger sailing vessel. There is not a whole lot of money around smaller sailboats. Everyone wants those jobs which keep the wages down.

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 18:44   #3

Send a message via Yahoo to wllmtlsn
Yes and No