Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2008, 15:42   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to Interstategypsy
Hello Everyone

Hello Everyone

I am not new to sailing but I have never sailed. For the last 22 years I have been a dreamer, while studying every aspect of sailing in every publication or website I could find.
I have been a long haul trucker for the last 20 years. With the recent increase in fuel prices I have myself being forced out of the industry. So now I will have time to pursue my dream at last.
My start will be very minimum to say the least. I am selling my truck with hopes to buy a decent cheap sailboat. I already have my choices and price range.
My plan is to sell or walk away from everything I cant carry and buy the boat. I then intend to take some classes and spend as much time as I can on the water to gain experience. But this will have to be short cruises as I will have to find some type of job to do as I will be almost broke.
I have a couple of questions for everyone, I am not thin skinned by any means, please tell me your honest opinion.

1. Is there anyone in this forum who has experience driving a truck like I have and made the switch?
I ask this because I really don’t see much difference in driving an 18 wheeler and sailing a modest sailboat. My truck requires 100% of my attention and gets it, at times with the added cost of a relationship or two. I really don’t see the difference with a sailboat.