Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-02-2019, 11:33   #76
rbk

Boat: T37
Re: What to do for college...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmm View Post
If I were to do it again (I was similar to you, all I wanted to do was sail) I would pick up a trade first. Takes less time than 4 years of Uni and alot less money. Lots of Uni grades end up going back to college to pick up a trade when they discover that there is no $100k a year job available in "dance theory"

I would seriously consider refridgeration or welding or Diesel mechanics (all in demand and useable on the water too!)

After a few years of that I would then consider Uni. but only after taking my trade and going cruising for a bit.
I have a buddy that has a PhD in physics, he’s an electrician now (and a dammed good one!) Supper smart guy but job options in that field combined with where he wants to live are limited.
rbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2019, 11:37   #77

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Cruising North Sea and Baltic (Summer)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanibel sailor View Post
Has ANYBODY here been able to go to college then immediately followed that with a long term sailing adventure? I can't imagine it happening. Most always there is pressure to enter the job market immediately after school. An employer would likely look more favorably on a year off before rather than after college.

As a person who has hired and fired thousands of people over the years, I can say, that an interesting gap year, these days, looks very good on a resume. In the UK, gap year is now starting to be considered a standard part of education, and what you actually do on your gap year has become an important element of your resume.