Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-03-2011, 13:33   #1

Question Fiberglass Repair

I just bought a 27' Aloha fractional sloop but it's got a bit of damage that I need to repair before I can put it in the water. I've never done fiberglass work before and so far I've mostly just done some reading online. While I've seen a bunch of how-to's I'd like to get some specific recommendations for my boat. I've attached a pic of the damage, it occurred from another boat at the marina getting out of its slip and hitting this boat.

So far my plan based on what I've read is:

1. Cut away the damaged fiberglass on the deck.
2. Reinforce the hull from the inside with fiberglass and repair the gel coat where it's cut.
3. Create a foam molding in the shape of the deck.
4. Use an angle grinder to create an indentation on the underside of the deck where I will be attaching the new fiberglass.
Now comes the tricky part:
5. Lay fiberglass on the underside of the deck and over the lip of the hull and use the foam molding to shape it.
6. Glue a new wooden core to the old wood. (tips on how to do this effectively would be appreciated)
7. Apply fiberglass over the wood core.
8. Sand the fiberglass so it's smooth and then apply gel coat. Not sure if a barrier coat is required first.

So far that's the plan but I would really appreciate anyone that could either give me some advice or point me in the direction of a good resource.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boatdamage.JPG
Views:	291
Size:	100.0 KB
ID:	25390  
joburnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2011, 13:56   #2

Re: Fiberglass Repair

Everything you need to know should be in here (187 page manual):

http://www.westsystem.com/ss/assets/...aintenance.pdf

More links to reference materials: