Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-07-2018, 15:43   #1

Boat: PDQ 32 LRC
Advice on fiberglass repair

I had an unfortunate encounter with a concrete abutment going through a narrow lock. It is a gouge about 18" long that goes through the gel coat pretty deep into the fiberglass, but not all the way through. I received an estimate for repair from a guy recommended by my yard: 14 hours at $80.00/hour + 208.00 in supplies + tax for a total of $1,420. Does this seem like a fair price or should I try to get additional estimates? I do want it to be done right and am willing to pay for it.

Alternatively, I'm wondering if I could do it myself. I'm pretty handy and have all the necessary grinding and sanding equipment, but I've never worked with fiberglass/gelcoat before. Should I start watching youtube videos and go for it, or would I be way over my head?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Gash in hull.jpg
Views:	482
Size:	403.0 KB
ID:	173756  
Jerry Woodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2018, 16:37   #2

Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Re: Advice on fiberglass repair

Hhmm, I guess we would need to see the quote and what he is actually doing. 14 hours is A TON of time.

Is he grinding and reglassing, then gelcoat? Is it just a gelcoat overcoat and color match (maybe a fiberglass layer inside)?

Granted, gelcoat sanding, fairing and polishing can take some time, but that seems pretty high to me. I had a chunk of my sugar scoop cut out, reglassed, and a gelcoat match done in under 20 hours. I also didn't pay $80/hour either, however, that was Florida.
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2018, 16:42   #3

Sigh.. I typed all that and then looked at your picture (the turtles threw me off and I thought you posted the wrong picture).