Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-05-2015, 04:42   #1

hard starting a yanmar20gm

i have been having trouble starting my engine. ( yanmar 20gm) i have a 1974 morgan out island 28'. i bought it 4 months ago. when i first started it would start . then the starter would turn over very hard like it wouldn't start. i started using ether. that helped a bit.then it would start and than not. now it won't start at all. i have checked the starter it's ok than the batterys no start. now i have about 1,000 cranking amps no start . i checked the injectors to see if i was getting water in the chamber no. i have been told that it's the head gasket. before i go any further i want to make sure before i tear it down. i also bled all the fuel lines from tank to injector. i am very new to diesel engines but i have worked on many gas engines so i do have some experance on engines.
jchock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2015, 06:01   #2

Boat: Fountaine Pajot, Antigua 37 - Ti' Punch
Re: hard starting a yanmar20gm

Don't use ether, it's terrible for your engine. It will eat away at the piston crown and destroy your rings.

Have you changed your fuel filters since you bought the boat? Check your air filter too. If everything looks good there, check compression.

You say you've been told it is your head gasket. Who told you that and what led them to that conclusion?

These little Yanmars are pretty simple. All you need is clean fuel, air, and compression. Hope some of this helps.
Ti' Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2015, 06:53   #3
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.

^^ +1.

With air, clean fuel getting delivered into the cylinder and compression, these engines will start.
All of these items can be checked without tearing the engine apart.