Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2017, 11:21   #1

Boat: FP Salina 48, Hobie 33
Rounding up all the time

First sail in my new to me FP Salina 48 and I'm baffled. I've got some experience sailing a Lagoon 440, so big cats aren't completely new to me, and I can't imagine what's causing this.

I'm out in the Chesapeake right now in about 15kt wind. Main is up on the 2nd reef (it was blowing hard a little while ago) Genoa is at 75%. We're running at about 120 apparent. The only way I can hold my track is with the motors idling in gear. As soon as you pull the levers into neutral, the boat starts to round up. The autopilot can't hold it, and you can't hold it by hand. Put it back in gear and you can steer again.

I'm sure the previous owner had no idea as he literally never sailed the boat. We didn't see this problem on the sea trial because the wind was 1kt. This problem is bad enough that if it happened on the sea trial I would have passed on the boat.

What am I missing?
Tornadosailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 11:24   #2

Location: Cruising in the SUN! Now hauled out in Malta for the winter.
Boat: 37' Oldenziel cat
Re: Rounding up all the time

I have the feeling the rudders are not aligned correctly. Have a look at the rudder angle set-up and adjust if necessary.
Old 12-10-2017, 11:46   #3

Boat: Bristol 27

Ease the main and/or move the traveler out some until you can control it...........

Usually when a sailboat wants to round up, you have too much main up or the main is sheeted in too tight (or the traveler is in to close to center with the main sheeted in too tight.)