Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2014, 08:52   #1

Best cat for extended cruising

I'm sure there will be a lot of different opinions on this, so please share them all!
A buddy and I are looking to buy a cat to live aboard and sail all over the world. We are looking to get off the beaten path to explore and play and will be offering crewed charters for several months of the year.
I have a lot of experience at sea, but none with cats, so I'm trying to figure out what our best option is going to be. At this point we are looking at something 45-52' range.
I've seen a lot of Lagoon's in my search, and they seem to be a very popular and nice looking boat. Does anyone have any pros or cons to the Lagoon over another model?
Any other builds that people recommend?

Size wise, at what point do you start running into problems while cruising? I know the Panama Canal charges more once you hit 50'. When you start cruising through the little Pacific islands or the fjords of Chile, is there a size that starts getting too big to get into some of the places? Or even trying to fit into berths around the world. At what point are you too big to fit into a slip?

I really appreciate any help and advice anyone can give!
SamFrederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 16:11   #2

Re: Best cat for extended cruising

Antares 44i
RichinBoca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 17:15   #3

Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only

The best cat depends to some degree on where you are going to sail.