Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-02-2018, 18:25   #1

Should I fix or sell my boat?

Looking for advice. I own a Crown 28(similar to Cal 2-27) that needs a few things. I'm trying to determine my best course of action towards sailing this spring. I can't decide between hunkering down and completing the project or selling and picking up a vessel that is ready to sail. I know all old boats will need something and that it's never ending, but this one needs quite a lot... I should ad that I am a carpenter with a fair bit of experience in electrical and plumbing, so following is work that I would take on myself. I've just never done it before so it's hard to judge how much it may cost and how long it may take.
Here's what she needs(that I'm aware of)
- new wiring throughout, including up the mast.
- lights inside and out including mast lights.
- stanchions and chainplates pulled and reset(as far as I know the decks are dry and solid but things were starting to seep and I've already pulled the stanchions off)
- needs a mainsail(hoping for a used one)
- needs all new lines and tackle.
- needs standing rigging replaced.
- bottom paint was done last in may '15 and has been sitting on the hard for a year, so that needs doing.
There may also be an issue with the poorly done transom cutout which was not sealed properly. I'm dreading the idea of cutting rotten ply out of the transom...as one thing I have zero experience with is fiberglass. Staying positive.
It's a lot, I know. I paid too much for it already. What would you do? Light it on fire?
I'll post pictures if anyone's interested.