Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2016, 07:48   #1

Boat: Peterson 33
Keel Meets Shelf

I scraped up the keel of my Peterson 33 last summer. Getting close to launch and need to fix it myself, or hire a contractor.The bottom 2 inches needs to be smoothed out and re-glassed. I have no experience working with fiberglass but the grinding part seems pretty straight forward. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I am very capable with tools and most repairs so I'm not afraid to tackle this if it seems reasonable.
Thanks,
Mike
MichaelKMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 08:12   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: Keel Meets Shelf

This is when you buy someone a case of beer and ask for advice, seriously
If it's what I think it is, it's an excellent first glass job, doesn't have to be perfect and is non structual
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2016, 08:26   #3

Boat: Samson C Mist 32

My suggestion would be a couple of practice sessions to get acquainted with fiberglass work, before working on the keel.
Steve Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2016, 18:27   #4

Boat: Santana2023

It's not hard working with glass. I shape surfboards in what little spare time I have. Best advice is do multiple layers of thin sheets of glass vs one or two thick layers. I've seen people glass jobs that look horrendous and fail because it was too thick and didn't bond right with the resin. Make sure to give a larger diameter than the damaged section and since it's not going to be visible to the eye it's great practice. Just be sure to use a rubber scraper and gently, yet firmly get all the air out of the glass but you don't want to press all the resin out. Trial and error really but you'll do fine.