Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 4.78 average. Display Modes
Old 12-05-2018, 14:30   #1156
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Boats Less Than $30K Recent Noteworthy Finds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf View Post
Hi everyone, first post.

I thought this was a great thread for someone like myself and instead of posting a new thread I thought I'd post a couple ads here and hopefully get some feedback on them.

First a bit of backstory:

I'm a complete sailing noob. Although I have a beginner's course that I'm doing tomorrow, so I'm looking to rectify that before I purchase a boat.

My plan is to buy a sailboat as primarily a liveaboard and work fulltime for a few years while slowly doing a re-fit, or whatever upgrades/repairs are necessary so that I'm ready and confident for some weekend warrior / week long trips in my local area. The long term goal, after saving enough money would be to head south, and the dream is to cross the pacific.

That dream is a long ways off though, so I'm not looking for a boat that can handle all that right away, if it can, that's just a bonus. But I'm open to upgrading in the future if need be.

So for now I'm looking for a liveaboard that can handle weekend trips while I learn to sail and slowly upgrade as I go. I'm thinking 27-35' seems to be a good LOA, and as my username entails I want to be able to operate alone. My max budget right now is 40k CAD.

TLDR;

1985 Canadian Sailcraft CS 30 Sail Boat For Sale - www.yachtworld.com

https://vancouver.craigslist.ca/rds/...579784887.html
Howdy!
Welcome Aboard CF!

Both boats look nice.