Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2010, 17:40   #1

A Pile of Questions About Purchasing a Boat in the US

Hi All,
As you have certainly read above, I have a couple of questions!
Most of the legal kind, where I hope this thread is not too misplaced.

I'm a UK resident (german citizen/passport) and plan to buy a sailboat in the US and sail her back.
This is not my first boat and I am not looking for any sailing and general purchase advice. In most cases I already did my research and just want confirmation ;-)
(for easy reference i will even label my questions!)

1. Are yacht brokers in the US required to have a trust account, i.e. an account where my money is safe e.g. in case the brokerage goes bust before completion of sale?

2. related to 1., How do I ascertain that the account where have to pay my monies in is in fact a trust account?

3. My plan is to buy the boat, have it taken off the US register, register it under a british flag and then sail away. Am I right here or am i missing something?

4. Tax, in particular VAT. Do I have to pay VAT on arrival in the EU/EEC or can I defer it to british customs if my first port of call in europe is not the uk?

5. Are there any other taxes when importing to the UK? (it is a used boat i am looking at)

6. The boat is a bit older, pre '85. So am I correct in assuming the boat does not need a CE certificate/rating?