Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 20:25   #1

Idiot or Hero? (mk2)

If attempting a solo, non stop circumnavigation in a home-built 50 foot trimaran is crazy, how about trying it in a home built monohull? (8 feet LOA)

Duckworks Magazine
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 21:08   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Well apparently this dream was over as soon as it began in 2006. The guy made it a few miles before the boat started leaking and he packed it in.

Duckworks Magazine

15 minutes of fame and all that crap...

There is something about human nature that, as an engineer, i will never understand. And that is that there were a ton of people supporting this guy "after" he failed miserably on this ill conceived, doomed to failure adventure.

I think I understand dreams but doesn't there have to be some sort of link to reality? Apparently for a lot of people, the answer is no.

I'm amazed that people sent this guy money after he failed miserably in order to by him bus fare home or some such. Amazing...
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2007, 06:47   #3

::humph::

A some-what well-known magazine once published a letter "sanitized" of all the contact information the author had asked be included. The author was looking for fellow adventurers to join him on a project to get and outfit a boat for the purpose of taking it in to the eye of a hurricane, and then traveling with it as long as possible until the storm made landfall. At which point they'd abandon the boat and find whatever shelter was possible.