Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2014, 05:04   #736
One of Those

Boat: Catalac 12M (sold)
Re: Do Multihullers Ever go Back?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rohan View Post

If I was a boat designer, I would take a standard modern monohull, remove the ballast and add a couple of pontoons! That would be a hell of a boat.
Do an internet search for 'trimaran'. You'd want to remove the keel, too. No need for that draft without the ballast.
Old 30-05-2014, 06:01   #737

Boat: Hunter 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canibul View Post
Do an internet search for 'trimaran'. You'd want to remove the keel, too. No need for that draft without the ballast.
I am fully aware of trimarans, thank you.

But most trimarans make the center hull so narrow that it greatly impacts living space (The Quoring Dragonflys, otherwise great boats, are an example of this). I would like the same concept on a more beamy hull, like a modern Beneteau. Have no idea how that would sail, but I would love to try it out.
Rohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2014, 06:30   #738
CF Adviser

Location: Wherever our boat is; Playa Zaragoza, Isla Margarita
Boat: 1994 Solaris Sunstream 40