Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-09-2014, 14:24   #1

Buying a 22' Cape Dory and crossing the Gulf

I am planning on buy a 1981 22' Cape Dory and sailing it from Miami to the Bahamas where it shall live. I have very little sailing experience and am purchasing this boat as a beginner learn to sail vessel. The problem is crossing the gulf stream is intimidating for someone with little experience.

What is the best course of action to get my boat home safely without killing myself?
moodyreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2014, 14:30   #2

Boat: Beneteau 32.5
Re: Buying a 22' Cape Dory and crossing the Gulf

I think it's important to get to now a boat well before taking it cruising. Crossing the gulf stream is largely a matter of waiting for the right weather. In the winter, when cold fronts are common, it can be a long wait.

I've spend one night in 35 knots (not predicted) close hauled puking my guts out all night, and have had crossing where it was flat and easy. I much prefer to wait for the flat and easy.
nautical62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2014, 14:49   #3

Get some reading on crossing the stream. Sail the boat so you are comfortable reefing again and again before you leave.
I think the general consensus is to cross the stream when the wind goes from NE to E and then south and around. The Noreaster blows against the stream causing rough water. I think the wind goes south every couple weeks generally. So find a good weather info site and go by that.

Cheechako is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2014, 15:22   #4

Boat: Tahitiana 32