Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Atlantic & the Caribbean
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-03-2012, 21:35   #1

Boat: Baba 30
Question Best living & sailing on U.S. East Coast?

Here's the situation; my wife and I have lived in WA state for over five years now. We're fed-up with the cruddy winters here, and we're seriously considering relocating to the East Coast.
We've sailed Puget Sound, north into Canada, down the West Coast, around So. Cal. etc... We need a change.
We recently sold our Union 36 cutter, so we're currently boatless.
We live in a nice 35' Fifth-wheel which we pull with our '03 Dodge Cummins. We're mobile.
I am a Marine Technician with lots of ABYC & manufacturers certifications and Project Management experience. Finding work has never been a problem.
Here's the question; where on the East Coast could we re-locate where the winters aren't 6 months long? AND the summers aren't brutally hot and humid? Someplace that would offer a nice cruising grounds and cruising community? My thinking is that Maine is too cold, and Florida too hot & humid, but hey! there's lots in between right?!
Thanks!
Old 17-03-2012, 23:16   #2

Boat: Haida 26
Re: Best living & sailing on U.S. East Coast?

Hi Bob & Sharon, We saw your boat in Channel Islands Harbor at Oxnard. We never did see you after that. We really enjoyed your company. Hope you find the magic spot, we're thinking about Mobile Al.. Have freinds there that sail. Maybe our paths will cross again somwhere. Did you guy's get caught in the blow at Point Conception? Good to see you guy's are OK. Michael & Brenda
rubyjean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2012, 00:11   #3