Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2017, 15:25   #31

Boat: Looking for my next boat!
Re: Radar waves safe for humans?

I'm an engineer. i worked at the communications research lab at McMaster university in Hamilton Ontario as a radar research engineer. We developed and tested early versions of ice detection/classification radar, and intelligent radar systems.

And I can tell you, beyond a doubt, with absolute certainty...radar waves are dangerous. Close to the radome is a high concentration of microwaves. Basically its a microwave oven with no door. You need distance to be safe.

We wrapped our work area in a faraday cage to protect ourselves when operating our ground level radar systems.

The radar waves are transimitted horizonally, so putting the radome up high puts you "under the fountain", not directly in the line of transmission. Putting the radome up high also increases the distance to you. So win/win.

The new radar systems use signifacantly less power than earlier versions, but still enough to do damage to the human body at close range.
hamburking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2017, 17:01   #32

How do you post an image from your desk top to CF ?
Rorzech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2017, 17:10   #33

I have a document that say's that the 3G radar has ZERO Radiation Hazard Period and that it can be installed anywhere on your boat. That means you can mount it on your steering pedestal if you like. I just posted it a minute ago.
Old 25-08-2017, 17:18   #34
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter