Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2019, 12:48   #1

Boat: Neel 51
Genset cranks up at 14.5v but not at 13v

I have a Mastervolt Whisper 3.5. When the boat is on shore power then batteries charge up to 14.5v and the genset starts fine. But when batteries are charger only up to 13v then it doesn't even cranks. Just one loud click.

Yanmar engine starts up just fine on this voltage.

The boat has 3 battery banks, the genset seems to use it's own battery. I've tried to connect it to the engine start bank and it didn't help. Batteries themselves probably old but again Yanmar is fine with it. When the genset is cranking up the voltage on the starter drops to almost zero and wires near the genset heat up. Voltage on battery itself drops to 10-11v.

What could be the problem?
colonel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2019, 13:06   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: Genset cranks up at 14.5v but not at 13v

Too small wire and or a loose / corroded connection.
I’m betting connection as I assume it hasn’t always down this.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2019, 16:19   #3
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF

Maybe a LVC cutout. Could be battery aging / degradation, do not expect the two motors to act the same.

But yes likely degraded connections - remove, inspect for corrosion, rewire if needed or at least resurface, then reconnect, they may even spec torque.

Can check resistance before and after with a DMM to be scientific about it.
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2019, 16:38   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

If it were a cut out, then the wires wouldn’t be getting hot.