Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2010, 20:30   #1

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
For You DC Voltage Experts

I'm in the process of installing a new windlass (N. Euro made). The instructions says to splice the 135 amp breaker in the negative lead before going to the 3 wire motor.

On my old U.K. made windlass the breaker was spliced in the positive lead before going to the switching solenoid.

I've been working with DC voltage since 1966 and it seems the fuses have always been on the positive side of the wire looms. The negative side is the ground/earth side of the battery.

My question would be; why would anyone put a fuse/breaker on the negative side of a DC system?

Plus the red and black wires are not inline between the toggle and foot switch.

My intuition tells me to hook it up positive side to.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A1500.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	412.0 KB
ID:	16320   Click image for larger version

Name:	SL1000.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	109.4 KB
ID:	16321  

Old 20-05-2010, 20:47   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
I think your intuition is right.

Putting in a breaker after the load for DC makes no sense except if you want to use that as a switch to keep it from running.

From a safety perspective, you still need a breaker on the hot side to preserve the wire or to keep a fire from starting should there be a direct short or an overloaded circuit.

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2010, 20:54   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
No expert but...