Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-04-2017, 01:24   #61
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,716
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Sadly 4.6.1 is not better than any other older version. Same bugs as before and sometimes obviously even worse than before. See e.g. this screenshot:

Gerhard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OCPN-Mac.png
Views:	176
Size:	227.0 KB
ID:	145268  
__________________

__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2017, 19:13   #62
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,213
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

A couple of days ago, after about 20 hours en route, the grib plugin frozen and after several tries the only solution was to kill the opencpn process.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20170424_101414.png
Views:	62
Size:	135.8 KB
ID:	146329

The grib dialog was grayed-out. I could move the dialog but not get rid of it, or use any buttons.
Hence it was impossible to do anything in O, for example, to save the track, or continue normal navigation.

It happened while looking at a std saildoc grib requested from the plugin.

The only unusual thing I had done prior to the crash, was to delete some OpenCPN Draw boundary zones, no longer needed.

Is there any way to prevent that a plugin problem disables O ?

Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2017, 19:42   #63
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Masachusetts
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,739
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Did you get a core dump or attach the debugger to get a backtrace?

Can you reproduce it?

If we ran the plugins each in a separate process then opencpn would be immune to plugin crashes. This would be possible with opengl rendering but I don't know how to do it with wxwidgets.
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2017, 06:22   #64
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

When editing a network or creating a new network the boxes arnt formed. just the box title

Protocol

address

tried reinstall.

win 10

sony laptop

Thanks for the good efforts so far
dataport
__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2017, 06:26   #65
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,213
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by boat_alexandra View Post
Did you get a core dump or attach the debugger to get a backtrace?

Can you reproduce it?

If we ran the plugins each in a separate process then opencpn would be immune to plugin crashes. This would be possible with opengl rendering but I don't know how to do it with wxwidgets.
There was no coredump and I was not running through ddd.
I use the grib plugin every day but has not seen this before or after.......yet.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2017, 06:27   #66
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,645
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtman View Post
When editing a network or creating a new network the boxes arnt formed. just the box title

Protocol

address

tried reinstall.

win 10

sony laptop

Thanks for the good efforts so far
dataport
Yachtman,

Tell us exactly what option tab and selections you make. Maybe I can reproduce it and find the cause. But can't tell from your description what you are trying to do.

I have checked and adding a network connection for NMEA data works ok. So tell us exactly how to reproduce what you are seeing.
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2017, 07:07   #67
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,213
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtman View Post
When editing a network or creating a new network the boxes arnt formed. just the box title

Protocol

address

tried reinstall.

win 10

sony laptop

Thanks for the good efforts so far
dataport

When you want to edit a connection, I can see what you mean. Just click the line in "Data Connections" that you want to edit, and all the boxes should appear ready for editing.

When it comes to creating a new connection, everything needed should be there by just pressing "Add Connection".

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 08:25   #68
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Moin,
sorry, is someone able to update the opencpn ppa for ubuntu zesti(17.04)?
For me it's on 4.4.
Thanks a lot
Kurt
__________________
Kurt T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:53   #69
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boat in Greece, home - Israel
Boat: Lagoon 400 & Nacra 6.0 beach cat
Posts: 574
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

The new version oftentimes freezes during build of a new route especially after zoom in command. It unfreezes after something that feels like ~10 seconds.
__________________
Mark, S/Y Bat-Yam
meirriba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 12:43   #70
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
When you want to edit a connection, I can see what you mean. Just click the line in "Data Connections" that you want to edit, and all the boxes should appear ready for editing.

When it comes to creating a new connection, everything needed should be there by just pressing "Add Connection".

Thomas
Tried a new connection. But it was the same.

Titles but no data entry boxes.

Have just tried again at home with no visit my harbor stick in and again no data entry boxes.
__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 12:46   #71
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,657
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Can you please post a screen shot?
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 12:51   #72
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Yachtman,

Tell us exactly what option tab and selections you make. Maybe I can reproduce it and find the cause. But can't tell from your description what you are trying to do.

I have checked and adding a network connection for NMEA data works ok. So tell us exactly how to reproduce what you are seeing.
Options
Connections
Add connection
Network
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	14936682299341969027054.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	398.8 KB
ID:	146640  
__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 13:06   #73
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,657
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

The same when you click on one of your (quite a crowd) connections?

The connection section of your opencpn.ini file?

What you might try is to start from a clean setting. Erasing the connections and set them up again.
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 13:37   #74
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 155
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Yachtman,

Your photo of the screen shows a horizontal scroll bar at the bottom of the "Connections" window. This is a hint as to where the data entry boxes are hiding. They are to the right of the visible part of the screen. Pull the scroll bar to the right, and you should see the boxes containing the data entry fields.

Paul
__________________
.Paul. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 09:22   #75
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN Version 4.6.1 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by .Paul. View Post
Yachtman,

Your photo of the screen shows a horizontal scroll bar at the bottom of the "Connections" window. This is a hint as to where the data entry boxes are hiding. They are to the right of the visible part of the screen. Pull the scroll bar to the right, and you should see the boxes containing the data entry fields.

Paul
Doh Many Thanks

Silly me.

needless to say that is the fix....

On another matter, but I will start a new post I have been in contact with Digital Yacht about being able to see the leds.....
__________________

__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, lease, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 185 14-09-2012 07:43
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.802 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 158 14-08-2012 10:07
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 91 01-08-2012 17:08


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.