Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
Old 07-11-2014, 14:09   #661
Registered User
 
hasse_A's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tyrell Bay,Carriacou
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 559
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Pavel

I think I need some help over here.
I am trying to set up Netzob.
However I am getting a runtime error when trying to installing matplotlib
There is something wrong how it uses the MV C++ library.
Se attachment.
The same thing is true for Pcapy
I have been consulting the net but can't find a solution.
I could set up a linux machine and try installing there but decided to ask you first. Thanks in advance.

/Hans
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	matplotlib.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	96.4 KB
ID:	91065  
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 14:16   #662
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,211
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hans...
Sorry, no idea, I'm not using Windows for anything but occasionally compiling and testing OpenCPN in a virtual machine for the past couple of years...
If you can install Linux or at least boot a live distro, you will most likely be done faster.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 08:18   #663
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Tried to compile gradar from git clone git://github.com/bdbcat/gradar_pi.git when in plugins directory

Where do I change this path? in cmake?

Thanks.

Code:
 Build FAILED.
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\plugins\gradar_pi\gradar_pi.vcxproj" (default target) (12) ->
(Link target) ->
  LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'E:\opencpn_cmake2010\Debug\opencpn.lib' [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\plugins\gradar_pi\gradar_pi.vcxproj]

    0 Warning(s)
    1 Error(s)
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 08:29   #664
Registered User
 
hasse_A's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tyrell Bay,Carriacou
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 559
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

rgleason

The file you have to edit is this one :
....\OpenCPN\plugins\gradar_pi\CMakeLists.txt

This is on line 164 or there around.
Then rebuild.

/Hans
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 16:32   #665
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Thanks Hans, I set it up like Dashboard

Code:
IF(WIN32)
SET(OPENCPN_IMPORT_LIB "../../${CMAKE_CFG_INTDIR}/${PARENT}")
#  SET(PARENT opencpn)
#  SET(OPENCPN_IMPORT_LIB "../../${CMAKE_CFG_INTDIR}/${PARENT}")
#  SET(OPENCPN_IMPORT_LIB "C:/Data-Dart/Up-Soft/Navigation/opencpn-git/${CMAKE_CFG_INTDIR}/opencpn.lib")
  TARGET_LINK_LIBRARIES( ${PACKAGE_NAME} ${OPENCPN_IMPORT_LIB} )
  ADD_DEPENDENCIES(${PACKAGE_NAME} ${PARENT})
ENDIF(WIN32)
and it completed with just one warning, no errors.
Code:
Build succeeded.
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\plugins\dashboard_pi\dashboard_pi.vcxproj" (default target) (8) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj" (default target) (10) ->(ClCompile target) ->
  c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\include\math.h(632): warning C4005: 'M_PI' : macro redefinition [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
Now I wonder if Neptune Gear needs an older version compiled?
Whoops just realized he uses Br24/Simrad. Sorry.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 01:43   #666
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indian Ocean
Boat: Stevens 47
Posts: 29
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hi folks,

We're planning to purchase a Garmin radar for use with OpenCPN. I'm trying to put the order together. The installation instrucions (GRadarDoc.pdf) reference the adaptor to use to connect radar cable to computer. Unfortunately the provided link is broken and the product name (Amphenol MRJ*5780*01) doesn't turn up in a search of the manufacturer's website.

It shouldn't be rocket science as it's "readily available" and there are probably many places to buy the right bit online, but I'm concerned about ordering the correct part the first time, since we have to ship it halfway around the world.

Would appreciate a hand in locating the hardware I need to order online! Can anyone help - and, is there a better thread for this? Slightly overwhelmed by the volume here but striking out with searching on CF.

high and dry in a Thai shipyard,
Behan
__________________
...a family of five, cruising since 2008 on s/v Totem.
www.SailingTotem.com
facebook.com/sailingtotem
nomadic mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 02:10   #667
Registered User
 
jonasaberg's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Boat: Wasa 410
Posts: 309
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadic mama View Post
(Amphenol MRJ*5780*01) doesn't turn up in a search of the manufacturer's website.
Behan
Try
Amphenol MRJ-5780-01
instead
jonasaberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 02:43   #668
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indian Ocean
Boat: Stevens 47
Posts: 29
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

and, boom! thanks jonasaberg, much appreciated.

Behan
__________________
...a family of five, cruising since 2008 on s/v Totem.
www.SailingTotem.com
facebook.com/sailingtotem
nomadic mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2015, 12:37   #669
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 79
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hello

I have been using Opencpn for 5 years now, a year ago i installed Grader on my Dedicated Winows XP Computer on the Boat, and am Very Happy with it.

Now i am trying to install Gradar on My Acer 9 inch computer to use as a backup. I also have Windows XP on it. I copied the TCPIP numbers in the control panel on my working Gradar to the Backup computer, but cannot get it to work, i have enclosed some screen shots.

any help appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IP adress.JPG
Views:	185
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	97644   Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.JPG
Views:	323
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	97645  

rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2015, 13:56   #670
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,150
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

rontom....
Although not having a Garmin radar I should have tried an IP address in the same segment as the radar e.g. 176.16.2.1 instead.
Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2015, 14:08   #671
Registered User
 
hasse_A's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tyrell Bay,Carriacou
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 559
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
I should have tried an IP address in the same segment as the radar e.g. 176.16.2.1 instead.
Well, the subnet mask is 255.255.240.0 so the PC and the scanner should be in same subnet so that should be ok.

rontom....
You don't happen to have two IP-interfaces on the Acer ?

Edit: I now see the only interface that OpenCPN can see is the loopback. Hmmm...
Something fishy here.

/Hans
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2015, 17:39   #672
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 79
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Hans

Thanks for the Reply

I am not real savy on computers like some of you are, so forgive me,
I do have 2 network connecions, on the Acer,is that the same as 2 ip addresses? If so, should i disable, or delete them completely?

I have the Acer at home now and looking through things , but am not connected to GPS or the Garmin
Radar.

Thanks
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2015, 17:53   #673
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 79
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

I see these 2 connections for my internet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	conection.JPG
Views:	182
Size:	69.1 KB
ID:	97657  
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2015, 19:10   #674
Registered User
 
hasse_A's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tyrell Bay,Carriacou
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 559
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

rontom.

On the print screen you sent, both interfaces seem to be disabled.
The "Local Area Connection" (The interface connected to the scanner) must be enabled.
This explains why OpenCPN only saw the loop back interface.

/Hans
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2015, 19:24   #675
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 79
Re: OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn

Thank you Hans

I tried to make it work with one of the enabled this am, but it turned out the
same results. I will try again in the Morning, i will take the Acer back down to the Boat and hook up the hardware again and try to replicate what is on the main computer on the Boat.


Thanks
rontom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, paracelle, radar


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCpn for Navigation gpshephe Marine Electronics 10 30-12-2013 09:33
What Do You Think of Selling OpenCPN? esan6 OpenCPN 25 23-10-2013 08:35
Help with OpenCPN Sailorman375 Navigation 3 11-08-2013 20:58
For Sale: Radar Mount sailorman14 Classifieds Archive 5 23-04-2012 20:50
OpenCPN Version 2.6 Beta Build 1524 bdbcat OpenCPN 115 09-04-2012 11:10

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.