Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-01-2013, 13:09   #76
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 75
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

win 7

all works ok, including the tick selection close, both with & without GL

only proviso is there is no data feed to the dash boards, as am at home.
__________________

__________________
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 16:40   #77
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bologna, Italy
Posts: 24
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by SethDart View Post
Problem found: commit 0eda8d moved this indication to the back. Change pushed to master, will be visible in next beta.

The flicker is probably related to some weird OpenGL driver. Can you test on another computer and report? Thanks.
Hi,

I tested with the netbook (Eeepc 901 with Win XP) and the flickering behaviour is the same both with and without OpenGL; with 3.0.2 there is no problem.

I also see another problem, this with both 3.0.2 and 3.1.1319 and both pc, that when closing OCPN I got an error (see attached screenshot).

Thanks,

Stefano
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OCPN_error.PNG
Views:	76
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	53436  
__________________

__________________
fastm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 01:50   #78
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Normandy, France
Boat: Flush Poker, 8.25m (Point Barre)
Posts: 335
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastm View Post
I tested with the netbook (Eeepc 901 with Win XP) and the flickering behaviour is the same both with and without OpenGL; with 3.0.2 there is no problem.
Just to be clear: there's no such option as disabling OpenGL in the dashboard plugin. The main OpenCPN option for enabling/disabling OpenGL is only for the core (the main chart display, that is) It has no effect on the dashboard plugin.

When we switched to pretty graphics this release cycle (switching to OpenGL drawings) we decided not to maintain 2 concurrent versions (one GL and one not-GL) we don't have enough manpower for that! The graphics are not that complicated and should (mostly) work for everyone ; we're doing our best for that. Dave have done a great work so far to patch the remaining glitches (displaying fonts <14px on Windows, mostly) There's a last series of patches coming with the next beta to clean the last bits.
__________________
SethDart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 02:54   #79
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Morbihan Brittany France
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 37
Posts: 64
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 ConfigFile backup

The logic use for opencpn.conf make possible to loose config file. Opencpn.conf is not save before being overloaded with a config update.

At least the 3.0 Loosing opencpn.conf happened in real and depending on the situation it can be pretty scary. This especially when the person skill to reconfigure the software is not on board.

The attached "strace" log shows that config file is not rename to .bak before being deleted by the tempry one. In order to minimize the risk of loosing config file:
  • config file should be rename to .bak before being deleted
  • before recreating automatically a new config file, opencpn should check if a backup config file exist and 1st try to restart from this one.
Strace extract: when config is updated

8576 open("/home/fulup/.opencpn/opencpnP1k4wb", O_RDWR|O_CREAT|O_EXCL|O_LARGEFILE, 0600) = 19
8576 stat64("/home/fulup/.opencpn/opencpn.conf", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0664, st_size=7456, ...}) = 0
8576 chmod("/home/fulup/.opencpn/opencpnP1k4wb", 0100664) = 0
8576 write(19, "[PlugIns]\n[PlugIns/GRIB]\nbEnable"..., 7456) = 7456
8576 close(19) = 0
8576 stat64("/home/fulup/.opencpn/opencpn.conf", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0664, st_size=7456, ...}) = 0
8576 unlink("/home/fulup/.opencpn/opencpn.conf") = 0
8576 rename("/home/fulup/.opencpn/opencpnP1k4wb", "/home/fulup/.opencpn/opencpn.conf") = 0
__________________
fulup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 11:37   #80
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bologna, Italy
Posts: 24
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by SethDart View Post
Just to be clear: there's no such option as disabling OpenGL in the dashboard plugin. The main OpenCPN option for enabling/disabling OpenGL is only for the core (the main chart display, that is) It has no effect on the dashboard plugin.

When we switched to pretty graphics this release cycle (switching to OpenGL drawings) we decided not to maintain 2 concurrent versions (one GL and one not-GL) we don't have enough manpower for that! The graphics are not that complicated and should (mostly) work for everyone ; we're doing our best for that. Dave have done a great work so far to patch the remaining glitches (displaying fonts <14px on Windows, mostly) There's a last series of patches coming with the next beta to clean the last bits.
Hi,
Thanks for the explanation, now it's clear and anyway is not a heavy problem.

Stefano
__________________
fastm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 11:37   #81
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Hello Dave, hello SethDart,

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Folks...
...
Dashboard:
1. Create two dashboards, ..
6. Question: Are the two Dashboards visible, and in the right places?
Dave
W XP SP3, ASUS 1001 HA . No problem. The dasboards are at the good place.

Not important but ... I see a little bug.
1°) I destroy all my dashboard
2°) I try to create a dashboard
The the icon of the dashboard, in the prefence window is not correctly displayed.
3°) Then I add an instrument, and then all is Ok.

See screen copy.
B.R.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 21:20   #82
Registered User
 
jumager's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Boat: HR-40
Posts: 1
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

I am using it on OS X Mountain Lion, and it will crash on every launch but the first one. Deleting the opencpn.log file circumvents the problem, appears to be related to the dialog box mentioning the log file was renamed.

I am also having problems that some of my BSB charts are not understood any longer, the log file mentions that the projection UNKNOWN is not supported. The BSB header looks like this:

! Created by mc2bsbh beta09 - Use at your own risk!
VER/2.0
BSB/NA=Panama C2 (11)
NU=,RA=1969,2825,DU=171
KNP/SC=200000,GD=WGS84,PR=UNKNOWN,PP=UNKNOWN
PI=UNKNOWN,SP=UNKNOWN,SK=0.0,TA=90.0
UN=METERS,SD=UNKNOWN
DX=29.71,DY=29.71
OST/1
REF/1,265,338,9.41666667,-79.9166667
REF/2,1798,2518,8.83333333,-79.5
REF/3,257,2513,8.83333333,-79.9166667
REF/4,1805,344,9.41666667,-79.5
CPH/0.0
PLY/1,9.46373333,-79.9595667
PLY/2,8.82541667,-79.9590833
PLY/3,8.82588333,-79.48375
PLY/4,9.46311674,-79.4834166
DTM/0,0
IFM/7
RGB/1,3,3,2
RGB/2,20,22,18
RGB/3,20,42,10
RGB/4,43,51,14
...

Is there any way I can use these again?
__________________
jumager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2013, 09:47   #83
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Hello Dave,

I am preparing to install a AIS transmitter on my boat. I thought about what will happen with OpenCPN. I'm having a problem with the alarm AIS. My boat will appear as a target.

I'm not the only one asking this question. It also appears on the forum French H & O. Currently, nobody knows the address.

Is it possible that OpenCPN does not show the boat as a target user?

It should allow the user to enter the MMSI of his own boat somewhere, for example in the "AIS" tab of "Options". Afterwards, OpenCPN could consider it.

Best regards

Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2013, 10:31   #84
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumager View Post
I am using it on OS X Mountain Lion, and it will crash on every launch but the first one. Deleting the opencpn.log file circumvents the problem, appears to be related to the dialog box mentioning the log file was renamed.

I am also having problems that some of my BSB charts are not understood any longer, the log file mentions that the projection UNKNOWN is not supported. The BSB header looks like this:

! Created by mc2bsbh beta09 - Use at your own risk!
VER/2.0
BSB/NA=Panama C2 (11)
NU=,RA=1969,2825,DU=171
KNP/SC=200000,GD=WGS84,PR=UNKNOWN,PP=UNKNOWN
PI=UNKNOWN,SP=UNKNOWN,SK=0.0,TA=90.0
UN=METERS,SD=UNKNOWN
DX=29.71,DY=29.71
OST/1
REF/1,265,338,9.41666667,-79.9166667
REF/2,1798,2518,8.83333333,-79.5
REF/3,257,2513,8.83333333,-79.9166667
REF/4,1805,344,9.41666667,-79.5
CPH/0.0
PLY/1,9.46373333,-79.9595667
PLY/2,8.82541667,-79.9590833
PLY/3,8.82588333,-79.48375
PLY/4,9.46311674,-79.4834166
DTM/0,0
IFM/7
RGB/1,3,3,2
RGB/2,20,22,18
RGB/3,20,42,10
RGB/4,43,51,14
...

Is there any way I can use these again?
Regarding your chart error. OpenCPN no longer accepts, PR=UNKNOWN, as large errors could be introduced by just guessing that everything is "Mercator".
You have to find the projection of your charts, which normally is printed somewhere on the chart itself.
Before proceeding, make backups of all affected chart files.
Open the .kap files in a binary- or hex- editor. Some text editors may work as well, but absolutely not in "words" or a similar word processors.
Change "UNKNOWN" to the correct projection. OpenCPN does not support all projections, but it's unlikely that you come across one of these as long as your not dealing with Arctic or Antarctic charts.
Next make sure that libbsb is installed libBSB | Official OpenCPN Homepage.
All that remains is to run "bsbfix" from the command line with the path to your kap file as an argument. After this, the kap file should work with OpenCPN.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2013, 17:13   #85
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 490
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Concerning the Dashboard issue, with Windows 7, the 2 dashboards are on top of each other after re-openning, no matter openGL or not. I don't see why someone want 2 dashboards.
Lets be honest.
__________________
P_Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 03:22   #86
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Hoi,
I'm trying to get a setup with 2 computers networked working.
The plan is a 'charttable comp' connected to nmea, retransmitting all nmea to a second 'cockpit' comp.
If I try this it seems to work, but after 1 to 2 hours the Charttable comp disconnect istself from the nmea source.
I did input filtering on the network to get rid of UDP echo's, and did reduce priority.
This happens both using a XP charttable or a gentoo charttable comp.
Cockpit comp is a gentoo.
Any idea's of what to do to next to narrow down the problem??
Dirk
Attached Files
File Type: doc opencpn.conf.doc (7.2 KB, 36 views)
File Type: doc opencpn.log.doc (51.7 KB, 33 views)
__________________
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 04:08   #87
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooiedirk View Post
Hoi,
I'm trying to get a setup with 2 computers networked working.
The plan is a 'charttable comp' connected to nmea, retransmitting all nmea to a second 'cockpit' comp.
If I try this it seems to work, but after 1 to 2 hours the Charttable comp disconnect istself from the nmea source.
I did input filtering on the network to get rid of UDP echo's, and did reduce priority.
This happens both using a XP charttable or a gentoo charttable comp.
Cockpit comp is a gentoo.
Any idea's of what to do to next to narrow down the problem??
Dirk
Dirk
Looking at your log, I can see one change you need to test.
"Serial:/dev/ttyUSB0 (Priority: 0)"
You actually have the real data on the same priority as the UDP.
Make sure that /dev/ttyUSB0 has a priority of 1 or higher. The UDP port must have a lower priority than the "real" incoming data.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 06:36   #88
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,294
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Dirk
...I can see one change you need to test. "Serial:/dev/ttyUSB0 (Priority: 0)"...
Make sure that /dev/ttyUSB0 has a priority of 1 or higher. ...
Thomas
The incident occurred at Dirk confirms the interest in the presence of a "Priority" column in the window that displays all connections.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 09:05   #89
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Thomas
Looks like you where right. running now 6 hours without hickups.
Dirk
__________________
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 13:01   #90
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: QC, Canada
Boat: Kelt 8.50
Posts: 73
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.1319 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
Hello,



The incident occurred at Dirk confirms the interest in the presence of a "Priority" column in the window that displays all connections.
I second that.

Even better, connexions could be sorted by priority.

Jean-Marie
__________________

__________________
houlejm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.