Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2013, 08:54   #1

Boat: Challenger 35 Ketch
Garmin USB GPS Interface

I am new to OpenCPN so maybe others have the answer to this problem. OpenCPN does not always find my Garmin GPSmap 478 on the USB. I looked at the Windows 7 device manager and the Garmin USB GPS device shows up. Looking at the Garmin GPS Properties tells me that "This device is working properly." It also shows the location as Port_#0004.Hub_#0007.
I checked the OpenCPN log file. When it works the log has:

8:15:50 AM: Garmin USB Device Found
8:15:50 AM: GarminUSBDriver Reset skipped, requires elevated privileges on Vista and later....
8:15:50 AM: Successful Garmin USB syncup.

When the hook up fails the log states:

8:36:31 AM: Garmin USB Device Found
8:36:31 AM: GarminUSBDriver Reset skipped, requires elevated privileges on Vista and later....
8:36:31 AM: (usb) CreateFile on '\\?\usb#vid_091e&pid_0003#6&21ab883&0&4#{2c9c45c2-8e7d-4c08-a12d-816bbae722c0}' failed
8:36:31 AM: Couldn't get Garmin USB packet size.

I appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Art
Art Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 16:09   #2

Boat: 29'
Re: Garmin USB GPS Interface

....don't have either, but you said any help! this link thatCFS insists on calling Vista..
Vista
looks useful...
my substitute for real help is: be aware that garmin's usb driver may just be for upload download and not actually a serial port emulator for nmea output.
I have a garmin driver, opencpn finds it-it's listed-, but there's no nmea on it. Try another port, in opencpn's port-choosing dialogue.

Also, confirm with another app that the nmea is available and thereby confirm an opencpn problem, or not...
"Visual GPS" is my present fave for this.

Vista and Garmin are on my "Do Not Frend" list