Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2012, 13:30   #1

Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
How to get Leeward and Windward Charts

I am new to the Open CPN world. That said, I tried a year ago, got frustrated, and went back to my Capt chart program. Having talked with many users since then and hearing how good the program is I am trying again. I have downloaded the program and got the CPN3 charts. It works but the charts seem to be very crude. Does anyone have advice on where I can get good charts for the Leeward and Windward Islands? Preferably free downloads. Thanks Aloisius, Dave
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2012, 13:43   #2

Boat: Journeyman
Re: How to get Leeward and Windward Charts

Quote:
Originally Posted by landonshaw View Post
I am new to the Open CPN world. That said, I tried a year ago, got frustrated, and went back to my Capt chart program. Having talked with many users since then and hearing how good the program is I am trying again. I have downloaded the program and got the CPN3 charts. It works but the charts seem to be very crude. Does anyone have advice on where I can get good charts for the Leeward and Windward Islands? Preferably free downloads. Thanks Aloisius, Dave
If you were using BSB/KAP raster charts with your previous program you can use the same charts with OpenCPN. You just need to load them. Have a look in the manual if you're unsure how!
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2012, 14:42   #3

I do not believe they are that type. Thanks
Old 31-08-2012, 17:05   #4
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Chart Formats | Official OpenCPN Homepage