Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2016, 09:07   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
GE plugin will not work

Goodmorning,
I cannot get the Google Earth plugin to work. I already had the problem under 4.0 but also after installing 4.2 and the 1.2 GE plugin I have the same result.
- It installs fine.
- Activation works fine.
- I do not change any preference
- GE button is in toolbar in OpenCPN
- GE works fine stand alone.
- When I press the button it opens the GE window but it remains blank.
- The chart view port box is checked.
- I have tried moving the chart, zooming in and out etc. to no avail.
- I have tried this on 3 separate PCs. One running W8.1 and 2 running W10.

Can anybody help me.

Cheers, Andre
__________________

__________________
AndreHuizing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 09:45   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: GE plugin will not work

Andre...
What is your GE version? The plugin does not work with the latest as the API it uses does not exist anymore. Also make sure that GE is set not to open any dialogs on startup etc. as described in the readme. Needless to say that I can't reproduce the problem.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 00:50   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Re: GE plugin will not work

Thanks Pavel. I did not know about the version problem and downloaded the latest. Do you know up till which version GE works with OpenCPN?

Cheers, Andre
__________________
AndreHuizing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 04:26   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: GE plugin will not work

Andre...
7.0, I think. The one available as "the older version" on the GE download page should work.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 10:19   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
Re: GE plugin will not work

Andre

Don't feel alone as I too agree Google Earth does not work with opencpn 4.2. I have tried on different systems. pc, notepad, etc. I only see a blank screen when trying to use the plugin. outside the opencpn program, I can open ge on my desktop. It works as advertised. I disabled the pop up screen/tips. I believe I have done all the correct items listed to make it work in opencpn but I am missing something. in the previous versions it has worked very well and is a excellent tool. I will keep an eye out on the posting to try suggestions to make ge work.
take care
jim
__________________
devee1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 10:42   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: GE plugin will not work

Jim...
Same question as to everybody else: What version of GoogleEarth do you have installed? If it is 7.1, it will never work as the needed interface was removed from it by Google.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 11:30   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: GE plugin will not work

wdkester had a similar experience and finally advised that it was working. You may search for David's report.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 11:39   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
Re: GE plugin will not work

Nohal

You were spot on with the version being incorrect. I don't how yet but ge upgraded to 7.1. I just downloaded and installed 7.0 and it works as advertised. good catch.
thank you
jim
__________________

__________________
devee1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plug

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
opencpn weather routing plugin not found usodimare OpenCPN 8 26-08-2015 14:26
Weatherfax PLugin Not in settings Maajhire OpenCPN 20 03-05-2015 05:55
GE plugin not working in v. 3.2 sinbad7 OpenCPN 10 25-03-2013 21:32
AIS RADAR and findit plugin icon can not display in OpenCPN Version 3.1.814 xiurong OpenCPN 1 16-08-2012 12:05
grib weather plugin not visible geo38 OpenCPN 6 02-08-2012 16:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.