Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2015, 19:33   #241
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,357
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
I have just upgraded my cmake from some earlier beta to 3.1 final, purged the build dir and tested if it still works and it does.
Pavel,

Thank you for your encouragement. The answer was in the above quote. I purged the entire build folder and now cmake works. I can't explain why it did not before but it must have been some cached text file(s). Again, thanks for the support.
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 08:18   #242
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Hi all!

In the Developer's guide - Compiling windows
Compiling - Windows | Official OpenCPN Homepage
source directories are referred to.
I find this a bit unclear.


Section 3 : Getting the OpenCPN source.

To update the code you cloned before, cd into the source directory and issue git fetch --all
Now what source directory is that ?
Is it the source tree i.e
cd OpenCPN or
cd OpenCPN/src ?

My guess is that it's
cd OpenCPN

Section 4 : Building Open CPN

Create a directory named build under the topmost source directory.

mkdir OpenCPN/build or
mkdir OpenCPN/src/build ?

My guess is that it's
mkdir OpenCPN/build

Please excuse my ignorance.

/Hans
__________________

__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 08:32   #243
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasse_A View Post
Hi all!

In the Developer's guide - Compiling windows
Compiling - Windows | Official OpenCPN Homepage
source directories are referred to.
I find this a bit unclear.


Section 3 : Getting the OpenCPN source.

To update the code you cloned before, cd into the source directory and issue git fetch --all
Now what source directory is that ?
Is it the source tree i.e
cd OpenCPN or
cd OpenCPN/src ?

My guess is that it's
cd OpenCPN

Section 4 : Building Open CPN

Create a directory named build under the topmost source directory.

mkdir OpenCPN/build or
mkdir OpenCPN/src/build ?

My guess is that it's
mkdir OpenCPN/build

Please excuse my ignorance.

/Hans
Hans...
You clone the source tree, so it's topmost directory is "OpenCPN"
Technically, if you used the other logic and did everything in "OpenCPN/src" it will work exactly the same (except "cmake .." which you would have to replace with "cmake ../.." of course), you will just have your build directory elsewhere.
If you feel like you have a better wording for it, which will make it clearer, feel free to edit the page in the wiki.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:06   #244
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Thanks Pavel!

You rock.

Where do I find the Wiki for the documents ?

When I run the cmake I get this

CMake Warning (dev) in CMakeLists.txt:
Policy CMP0043 is not set: Ignore COMPILE_DEFINITIONS_<Config> properties.
Run "cmake --help-policy CMP0043" for policy details. Use the cmake_policy
command to set the policy and suppress this warning.
This warning is for project developers. Use -Wno-dev to suppress it.


Anything to care about ?
I'm using Cmake 3.0.2

/Hans
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:20   #245
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Hans...
Harmless, some changes in cmake 3+ started to produce this warning, it does not affect us at all.
Most of opencpn.org is a wiki, register, log in and hit the EDIT link on top of the page.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:34   #246
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,357
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Hans,

I had similar questions. I think that page of the Wiki can be much improved. There are several detains that are not clear. I'm willing to help with updating that page along with you.
__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 11:53   #247
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

transmitterdan....

Yes. I just did some editing of the wiki.
I will continue as I go along and get the debug environment up
an running again. I am working on the xHD radar overlay and after Pavel
helped me converting the new code I am taking a new shot at it with a clean start.

/Hans
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 12:41   #248
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Okay so now debug build works without errors.

But............
not release
Says it is missing a CMakeLists.txt in release.

I suspected release directory didn't even have to exist either.

/Hans
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Build_error.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	95117  
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 13:19   #249
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Hans...
Never seen this one and does not make sense - build/release should never be source directory, it is created during the build. Try to purge the build dir completely and do
Code:
cmake ..
cmake --build . --config release
again

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 13:30   #250
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Nope, that made no change and
now the same thing happens with debug.

It builds ok with VS2010.

/Hans
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 13:40   #251
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

That's really weird. Can you attach your CMakeCache.txt? I think I never had cmake 3.0.2 on the Windows machine, but there was no problem with 2.8 and certainly there is no problem with 3.1 now.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 13:46   #252
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Sure can.
Here comes.

Had to trick the system. 60k .txt....... no way.

/Hans
Attached Files
File Type: doc CMakeLists.txt.doc (59.2 KB, 34 views)
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 13:47   #253
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Sorry wrong file. Hold.

/Hans
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 13:51   #254
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

New try.

/Hans
Attached Files
File Type: doc CMakeCache.txt.doc (27.8 KB, 32 views)
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 14:03   #255
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Recife, Brazil
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 230
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Pavel .....

It's getting quite late over here. I think I will have to get horizontal now.
Have to be up at 06:00. Will be at it tomorrow again.

There are some other peculiar things.
VS2010 wants to rebuild ZERO_CHECK every time I start debugging.....
Post what ever you find out and I'll check tomorrow.

/Hans
__________________

__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
environment

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:47.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.