Cruisers Forum
 

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 09:04   #181
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

rgleason@rgleason-VirtualBox:~$ ls /media/sf_Data-Dart/Climate-Current-Active/oscar_vel7047.nc
ls: cannot access /media/sf_Data-Dart/Climate-Current-Active/oscar_vel7047.nc: No such file or directory
rgleason@rgleason-VirtualBox:~$

Still does not work, but now when I navigate with Ubuntu file browser to
/media/sf_Data/ there are no subdirectories below and there is no access to files on my Windows C:/Data directory.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:41   #182
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Found this note in VB manual.
Quote:
Note
Access to auto-mounted shared folders is only granted to the user group vboxsf, which is created by the VirtualBox Guest Additions installer. Hence guest users have to be member of that group to have read/write access or to have read-only access in case the folder is not mapped writable.


So I tried
sudo gpasswd -a < ser> vboxsf

Which gave access to vboxsf, but does not fix the shared folder problem.
I can get access via the network, but that is really less than satisfactory, because I have about 170gb of files to process and they need to stay right where they are, as my Ubuntu install is 8gb.

Does anyone have some ideas about why I am unable to get Guest Additions and Shared folders working properly?

--no access to /media/Data-Dart or /media/Data-Dart2

I can see these through the network now.

I am going to shut VB and Ubuntu down, Shut the computer down and restart, maybe that will help.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 08:03   #183
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Git - Forking, Cloning a Local Repository, Syncing your Fork -Upstream, Fetch, Merge

I've forked Climatology into my github repository and cloned the fork locally on my computer.
I'd like to be sure I have the current code from Sean's repository
https://github.com/seandepagnier/climatology_pi

What I've done:

I've forked sean's climatology_pi https://github.com/seandepagnier/climatology_pi to here
https://github.com/rgleason/climatology_pi

I've cloned the fork onto my local computer
to path C:\users\Rick\Documents\Github\OpenCPN\plugins\cli matology_pi
using
$ git clone https://github.com/rgleason/climatology_pi.git

Git supports multiple remotes. This is commonly used when forking a repository.
When a repository is cloned, it has a default remote called origin that points to your fork on GitHub,
not the original repository it was forked from.
To keep track of the original repository, you need to add another remote named upstream:
Synching your Fork
Tip: Syncing your fork only updates your local copy of the repository; it does not update your repository on GitHub.I've added an upstream remote.

$git remote add upstream https://github.com/seandepagnier/climatology.pi.git
#Assigns the original repository to a remote called "upstream"

$git remote
origin
upstream

The git remote -v command shows an incorrect path for the remote.
C:\Users\...\GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi >git remote -v
origin git://github.com/rgleason/climatology_pi.git (fetch)
origin git://github.com/rgleason/climatology_pi.git (push)
upstream
git://github.com/seandepagnier/climatology.pi.git (push)
upstream git://githum.com//seandepagnier/climatology.pi.git (pull)

Because I used a "period" instead of "_" when I do a "git remote -v" the upstream path to Sean's git is not right.
How do I fix this? Try to delete the remote reference? Will that also try to delete the remote repository? -Sean's!
There is a better way, go into your local the "git" directory under ../plugins//climatology_pi
Find the "config" file and edit the "config" file changing the "period" to an "_" under "upstream" and save it. Then

C:\Users...\GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi> git remote -v
origin git://github.com/rgleason/climatology_pi.git (fetch)
origin git://github.com/rgleason/climatology_pi.git (push)
upstream
git://github.com/seandepagnier/climatology_pi.git (push)
upstream git://githum.com//seandepagnier/climatology_pi.git (pull)

Shows the correct path to Seans Climatology directory.
Fetch
Now we can issue the command
$git fetch upstream
#Pulls in changes not present in your local repository, without modifying your files

C:\Users..\GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi>g it fetch upstream

remote: Counting objects: 67, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (19/19), done.
remote: Total 48 (delta 39), reused 38 (delta 29)
Unpacking objects: 100% (48/48), done.
From https://github.com/seandepagnier/climatology_pi
* [new branch] master -> upstream/master

Ok now what has happened?

C:\Users\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi> git branch -va
* master d0dbecb Create README.md
remotes/origin/HEAD -> origin/master
remotes/origin/master d0dbecb Create README.md
remotes/upstream/master 7c9ccc8 typos and versioning

Now we have the upstream's master branch stored in a local branch "upstream/master"
Does "git fetch upstream" update the local ../plugins/climatology_pi directory without overwriting your changes?
YES in upstream/master branch See syncing a fork 'fetching"
Does "git fetch upstream" update the my fork [/github.com/rgleason/climatology_pi] of Sean's repository called masterr?
NO
Merge
Now that we have fetched the upstream repository, we want to merge its changes into our local branch. This will bring that branch into sync with the upstream, without losing our local changes.
$git checkout master
Switched to branch 'master'

C:\Users\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi> git merge upstream/master
error: Your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by merge:
data/ClimatologyInformation.html
src/ClimatologyConfigDialog.cpp
src/ClimatologyOverlayFactory.cpp
Please, commit your changes or stash them before you can merge.
Aborting

C:\Users\..GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi>g it stash
# to save changes made to certain files on the local repository (I am probably going to accept all of Sean's changes).
Saved working directory and index state WIP on master: d0dbecb Create README.md
HEAD is now at d0dbecb Create README.md

C:\Users\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi> git merge upstream/master
Merge made by the 'recursive' strategy.
CMakeLists.txt | 2 +-
data/ClimatologyInformation.html | 2 +-
gendata/Makefile.in | 12 +++++-----
gendata/gencyclonedata.cpp | 10 +++++---
src/ClimatologyConfigDialog.cpp | 3 ++-
src/ClimatologyConfigDialog.h | 4 ++--
src/ClimatologyDialog.cpp | 2 +-
src/ClimatologyDialog.h | 4 ++--
src/ClimatologyOverlayFactory.cpp | 48 ++++++++++++++++++++-------------------
src/ClimatologyOverlayFactory.h | 2 +-
src/IsoBarMap.cpp | 2 +-
src/IsoBarMap.h | 2 +-
src/climatology_pi.cpp | 2 +-
src/climatology_pi.h | 4 ++--
src/defs.h | 2 +-
15 files changed, 54 insertions(+), 47 deletions(-)

C:\Users\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\plugins\climatology_pi> git branch -va
* master 55f2acf [ahead 9] Merge remote-tracking branch 'upstre
am/master'
remotes/origin/HEAD -> origin/master
remotes/origin/master d0dbecb Create README.md
remotes/upstream/master 7c9ccc8 typos and versioning

Now the Master has been updated by Sean's updates. It should be plugin version 03 now.
This is enough to cover for now
=====

Remaining Question:
How to update the remote fork ?
---
How to safely rebase all your Django branches.
https://gist.github.com/ogier/2549844



rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 03:44   #184
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Oracle Virtualbox "VirtualBox-4.2.16-86992-Win.exe"
An update was offered when I checked, I downloaded and tried to install, assuming Oracle would keep my Linux virtual setup, no such luck. The linux virtual setup appears to be gone, as well as the old version of Virtualbox, and the new version will not install and has sent a message to Microsoft about the problem.

Quote:
Failed to create the VirtualBox COM object.
The application will now terminate.
Callee RC: CO_E_SERVER_EXEC_FAILURE (0x80080005)
I would have thought there would be some warning or alarm! Bad design. Kind of ticks me off.

Do not appear to be any reasonable system restore points prior to the the install. Should I just go back to the previous Virtualbox?

Which was VirtualBox-4.2.12-84980-Win.exe in May.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 04:00   #185
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewto...p=33941#p33941
Q: What is the proper way to upgrade?
A: Since version 1.6.0, you no longer need to uninstall VB in Windows, but can install it on top of the current installation.

--I can only assume that something must have happened to my installation before upgrading...? Why? because I had to do a search for the VirtualBox start shortcut.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 04:16   #186
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Regarding Virtualbox upgrade notes above, I then tried downloading newest version for Windows and the Virtualbox extensions. Virtualbox extensions "found" my old installation and prompted me for an upgrade, which I accepted. It seems to restore my Linux Virtual Machine! -- saved from having to recreate the entire setup. Should I upgrade Ubuntu 12.04 LTS? If so to what?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2013, 17:12   #187
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Refer to this post

I had troubles compiling with MSVC++ Studio 2010 it complained about the "heap" being corrupted and triggered a break point and would not run normally at all. I thought, horrors, my entire computer hive is damaged! Not so.

After some help from bdcat Dave (reviewing opencpn.log), saying the problem was in the grib_pi plugin -evidently was corrupted in my local repository for some reason (He suggested that he normally does not have plugins in his development setup - but since that seems to be what I do, I need them), I double checked and saw that grib_pi was plainly listed in the opencpn.log file, --no doubt about it!

So, I simply deleted grib_pi. Not the thing to do. More MSVC++ complaints. I tried to retrieve it from Recycle bin, too late. I should have used the git rm command.

Now what can I do? Delete the entire git setup and clone it again? -Sure that would work, but would take some time. Also I've made a few little changes to weather_routing etc that I would have to recreate.

Then I looked at Cloning only a Subdirectory with Git
I was a little unsure about that so I waited.

Then I found hard reset which I had used before. Since the plugins that I had changed code in were not a part of the opencpn "origin / master" branch and were separately cloned, fetched and pulled, using a hard reset probably would not change those other plugins because the little text files that are the heart of git showed those separately. .. So I tried it and it worked. I had my full grib_pi folder under plugins back, complete with src and po files.

Here is the link Reset and sync repository with local repository
So with that I went ahead, and afterwards found the missing grib_pi files in the plugins directory, and then finally was able to compile with MSVC++ without complaint!

By the way, Sean's plugins that I had cloned separately into the plugins directory, remained unaffected, so that my small changes to weather_routing_pi regarding version number remained intact.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 11:54   #188
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Hakan...
Congrats Ready for the next small git lesson? If so, try Code: git diff
on your modified source.

Better say
Code: git diff > mydiff.txt

I think it will save you a bit of work next time...
The resulting mydiff.txt is all that's needed to replay your changes on anybody's code using
Code: git apply mydiff.txt

Pavel
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 05:55   #189
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

I've been nervous about using github, because I am a nephyte programmer really, yet I have made a few small changes to get Weather_routing to work with Climatology for Windows. I never committed those changes from my fork. However this new github network graph visualizer may help with that trepidation:

https://github.com/blog/39-say-hello...aph-visualizer
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:11   #190
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

How to test plugins? http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ml#post1402752
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 19:06   #191
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

I am having trouble "fast forwarding" my github.com FORK from Opencpn/Opencpn, which is 6 months old. I have deleted my local repository and will attempt to recreate after my FORK is current.

I could simply delete github and start over, but I doubt it is that easy.
I don't want to screw up Opencpn so it would be appreciated if there is a reasonably straight forward way to do this.

I'd lijke to get current with this.
https://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN/c...e78a16bb2f528f
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 20:21   #192
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Counter intuitive as it is this was the answer.

https://help.github.com/articles/fork-a-repo
https://gist.github.com/mbrochh/964057

From the Local Repository, create an "upstream branch" to https://github.com/Opencpn/Opencpn.git Then fetch and merge, or pull. Then push the changes to the local repository up to your Fork on Github.


CD to your local repository, For example documents/github/OpenCPN/

git remote add upstream https://github.com/opencpn/opencpn.git #
Assigns the original repository to a remote called "upstream"

git fetch upstream
Pulls in changes not present in your local repository, without modifying your files

git merge upstream/master
Merges fetched commits to your working files.

OR
git pull upstream master
Pulls commits from 'upstream' and stores them in the local repository
git push origin master

git checkout master // [my master branch]
git merge upstream/mastergit push origin master
Pushes commits to your remote repository stored on GitHub


Alternative

git checkout -b upstream/master
git remote add upstream git://github.com/documentcloud/underscore.git
git pull upstream master
git checkout master // [my master branch]
git merge upstream/master
git push origin master

It worked.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 20:30   #193
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Immediate Break when compiling. I wonder why.

OUtput from MSVC
>
Code:
opencpn.exe!ocpnStyle::intHash_wxImplementation_HashTable::GetNode(const wxString & key)  Line 46 + 0x3d bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!ocpnStyle::intHash::find(const wxString & key)  Line 46 + 0x1e bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!ocpnStyle::Style::GetIcon(const wxString & name)  Line 173 + 0x29 bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!WayPointman::ProcessIcons(ocpnStyle::Style * style)  Line 1115 + 0x71 bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!WayPointman::WayPointman()  Line 1013    C++
     opencpn.exe!MyApp::OnInit()  Line 1349 + 0x34 bytes    C++
     wxbase28ud_vc_custom.dll!wxAppConsole::CallOnInit()  Line 76 + 0x14 bytes    C++
     wxbase28ud_vc_custom.dll!wxEntryReal(int & argc, wchar_t * * argv)  Line 432 + 0x1b bytes    C++
     wxbase28ud_vc_custom.dll!wxEntry(int & argc, wchar_t * * argv)  Line 209 + 0xd bytes    C++
     wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxEntry(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, int nCmdShow)  Line 386 + 0xe bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!WinMain(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance, char * lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)  Line 755 + 0x1c bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!__tmainCRTStartup()  Line 547 + 0x2c bytes    C
     opencpn.exe!WinMainCRTStartup()  Line 371    C
     kernel32.dll!7740336a()     
     [Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for kernel32.dll]    
     ntdll.dll!77d19f72()     
     ntdll.dll!77d19f45()
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 06:58   #194
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

As Jean Pierre suggested to bring your Fork current with the main github Opencpn/Opencpn you use your Local Repository, from the Github Program select Local Repositories and for example rgleason/OpenCPN (fork).

Then right click on the right arrow of this selection and pick "Open a shell here" OR just click on the arrow and then pick the Settings (Gear) in upper left of the next page, and select "Open a shell here"

Now you have a shell window open from the local repository on your computer and you can issue git commands etc. Jean Pierre suggested the following to bring the Remote Fork current with the main OpenCPN/OpenCPN repository:

Don't know why?
are you sure you correctly link upstream with master ?

typing "git remote -v" in a shell, you should have an answer like that

origin http:// github.com/your forked repository/OpenCPN.com(fetch)
origin http:// github.com/your forked repository/OpenCPN.com(merge)
upstream http://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN.com(fetch)
upstream http://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN.com(merge)

then

"git fetch upstream"

and

"git merge upstream/master"


Thankyou Jean Pierre, that works.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 07:01   #195
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,634
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason
Having trouble compiling v3.3.1117 - cmake .. and cmake --build . works no errors
MSVC++ Build works no errors. Then run DEBUG and it instantly fails [break] and it has to do with wx I think. Something dumb. MSVC compiles on other local repositories. I was able to compile a release which works as v3.3.1009. I get v3.3.1117 compiled I will test grib_pi.
Jean Pierre wrote:
If you use MSVC 2010 as I do :
To run in debug in mode (after compile in debug )
- put the gshhs and uidata full folders in /OpenCPN/build/
- put the grib_pi.dll file in
/OpenCPN/build/plugins/

To run in release mode (after compile in release )
- put the gshhs and uidata full folders in
/OpenCPN/build/Release/
- create a new folder named "plugins" and put it in
/OpenCPN/build/Release/
-put the file grib_pi.dll in this new folder

I hope this will help Jean Pierre
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
environment


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.