Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2016, 15:29   #61
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,674
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanowens1966 View Post
The hacked version was only linked to for a day, 2 days ago (20th). So only those who downloaded an ISO on 20 Feb 16 need worry. It is AFAIK a unique occurrence, and certainly far less common than the nasties flying around for Windows.

I just don't want anyone scared off because of one, quickly blocked, attack.

Greg
__________________

__________________
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 15:30   #62
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 2,593
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

I took the free 10 upgrade and it changed every setting on every program in my computer. After fighting it for a week I dumped it and went back to Windows 7. It took me a couple of days to get all my settings back but at least I knew where they were and what they were called.
__________________

__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 15:35   #63
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,674
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatpoker View Post
It took me a couple of days to get all my settings back but at least I knew where they were and what they were called.
By spending an hour or so making a clone of your 7 disk before "upgrading" to 10 you could have reverted to 7 with all applications/settings unchanged in another hour or so. Not helpful to you now, but I hope others will take note.

Greg
__________________
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 15:55   #64
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,735
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarinaPDX View Post
By spending an hour or so making a clone of your 7 disk before "upgrading" to 10 you could have reverted to 7 with all applications/settings unchanged in another hour or so. Not helpful to you now, but I hope others will take note.

Greg
Disk manufacturers often have free cloning software that will clone your disk if it is their brand otherwise a great free cloning tool can be found at Clonezilla - About
__________________
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 16:03   #65
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlantic ICW 29N/81W
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 36CC, now sold
Posts: 817
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
I have 3 years on you. I only put mine to sleep. I can't find the mouse just as much. May be dumbo or gray matter?
I re-configured the power button to do a shutdown via the settings menu , simple, also did the same with closing the lid. I think the options were under display/power/ other options or similar. but most times i just press the windows key which bring up the 'start' tile display and ha the power options available like shutdown or restart. I have mine set never to go to sleep unless on battery power only, at home it is always plugged in and charging
__________________
Robin3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 16:28   #66
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,674
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefmagnet View Post
Disk manufacturers often have free cloning software that will clone your disk if it is their brand otherwise a great free cloning tool can be found at Clonezilla - About
I have been doing quite a few installations of SSD replacements for HDDs lately. Clonezilla used to be my standard tool. Unfortunately it is limited: it won't clone from a larger disk to a smaller one. It does not matter if the content is less than the new one, or even if the old drive is modified such that the usable partitions would fit (the rest being unallocated). So Clonezilla is getting a lot less use these days because a lot of casual PC users don't need SSDs as large as the HDD that their computers shipped with, and so they want to save some money with a smaller SSD. A related problem is that M$ in all of their wisdom puts files in the middle of disks that it considers unmovable, even by their own defragger. There is a free defragger that does a lot better job and does move the immovable. I use three free programs to clone Windows to an SSD: one to defrag, one to clone, and the last to align the Windows logical disk to the hardware (very important for wear and speed).

I would recommend to anyone considering the upgrade to 10 to first clone 7 to an SSD, then install the SSD and do the upgrade to 10. If 10 is not to your liking then temporarily swap the drives and clone the 7 HDD to the SSD and reinstall the SSD. (It is made more awkward by M$ preventing booting from external Windows disks.) For cloning purposes on newer machines it is easy to unplug the SATA connectors from the optical drive and plug them into the SSD, and faster than using most external solutions.

FWIW the difference between SSDs and HDDs in boot times with Windows is just stunning. If anyone wants to pep up an old machine, this is the way to do it. Prices are quite low now.

Greg
__________________
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 17:12   #67
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Central Tennessee
Posts: 111
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarinaPDX View Post
The hacked version was only linked to for a day, 2 days ago (20th). So only those who downloaded an ISO on 20 Feb 16 need worry. It is AFAIK a unique occurrence, and certainly far less common than the nasties flying around for Windows.

I just don't want anyone scared off because of one, quickly blocked, attack.

Greg
The post did not mention when he got MINT. As of about an hour ago, their website has yet to get back up after the attack. I agree that the attack is not nearly as common as on Windows machines but it is still important to inform those who are thinking of changing.

I have 2 Duo Core's with 4GB RAM running it and its speed crushes my i7 with 16GB running W10. It does not run all Windows Software and My Pinnacle won't run on it. IF I had a choice, I would run no MS products. But alas, I have no choice! The market Demands it. Also, too many Governmental Websites require IE to access the data and services I need to run my business.

Dean
__________________
Wishing I was Sailing....
deanowens1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 17:31   #68
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,674
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Yes, always a good idea to warn about a vulnerability. I just wanted to point out that it is limited to downloads on a single day. The bad guys hacked a download link on the Mint server in order to get users to download a version with malware from another site. While it is trivial to repair the link, Clem and the team are going through the server with a fine tooth comb to try to learn how the hackers got in, and if they left any backdoors. That speaks to the way they approach everything: they release when they are comfortable with things, and not before. Contrast that to M$... The site should be up soon for those ready to improve their experience...

I'm with you about avoiding M$; I have had Windows in a VM on my Mac for years for those instances where there is no Mac or Linux alternative, and the Windows app won't run on WINE (Linux) or DARWINE (Mac). These days I rarely have to use the VM, but it just depends on what apps are needed.

Greg
__________________
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 17:32   #69
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,735
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarinaPDX View Post
I have been doing quite a few installations of SSD replacements for HDDs lately. Clonezilla used to be my standard tool. Unfortunately it is limited: it won't clone from a larger disk to a smaller one. It does not matter if the content is less than the new one, or even if the old drive is modified such that the usable partitions would fit (the rest being unallocated). So Clonezilla is getting a lot less use these days because a lot of casual PC users don't need SSDs as large as the HDD that their computers shipped with, and so they want to save some money with a smaller SSD. A related problem is that M$ in all of their wisdom puts files in the middle of disks that it considers unmovable, even by their own defragger. There is a free defragger that does a lot better job and does move the immovable. I use three free programs to clone Windows to an SSD: one to defrag, one to clone, and the last to align the Windows logical disk to the hardware (very important for wear and speed).

I would recommend to anyone considering the upgrade to 10 to first clone 7 to an SSD, then install the SSD and do the upgrade to 10. If 10 is not to your liking then temporarily swap the drives and clone the 7 HDD to the SSD and reinstall the SSD. (It is made more awkward by M$ preventing booting from external Windows disks.) For cloning purposes on newer machines it is easy to unplug the SATA connectors from the optical drive and plug them into the SSD, and faster than using most external solutions.

FWIW the difference between SSDs and HDDs in boot times with Windows is just stunning. If anyone wants to pep up an old machine, this is the way to do it. Prices are quite low now.

Greg
Yes, a hassle with the bigger hd to smaller hd thing although there is a somewhat messy workaround using defragmentation and gparted.

Not that this matters if intending to backup and restore to the same disk.

Sent from my SGP521 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 17:34   #70
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,735
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanowens1966 View Post
The post did not mention when he got MINT. As of about an hour ago, their website has yet to get back up after the attack. I agree that the attack is not nearly as common as on Windows machines but it is still important to inform those who are thinking of changing.

I have 2 Duo Core's with 4GB RAM running it and its speed crushes my i7 with 16GB running W10. It does not run all Windows Software and My Pinnacle won't run on it. IF I had a choice, I would run no MS products. But alas, I have no choice! The market Demands it. Also, too many Governmental Websites require IE to access the data and services I need to run my business.

Dean
Virtual machine running Windows inside a Linux OS is one solution. Provides a degree of machine to machine portability as well as reduced exposure to Windows targeted exploits.

Sent from my SGP521 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 18:24   #71
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Windows 10 would be my recommendation. I work for a large processor manufacturer and previously worked for HP. Windows 10 will have a much longer support cycle from Microsoft. Also for anyone that is having issues with drivers for an older machine after upgrading to Windows 10, try using the Windows 8 drivers. Most of the time they work. I have about 6 to 8 machines at home(it varies because I get given machines to try for extended periods) most are on Windows 10. Also Microsoft will be ending the free upgrade this summer; I can't remember the exact date.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Alastair_Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 19:30   #72
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

To answer the Linux Mint questions - 17.2. I'm running it on a Dell i3 with 6GB ram and it smokes my newer desktop with windows 10.

I like Linux as it has libre office which is compatible with MS office except it's free. I can receive weather fax using hamfax and my Eton E5 ssb receiver and it has great astronomy software (free). So for me it's perfect and it rarely gets attacked whereas windows is rife with viruses.
__________________
SV. Gwenhidwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 19:40   #73
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,379
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

Quote:
Originally Posted by captstu View Post
The MacBook Air starts at about $400 from Amazon. The very high end is about $2200. We have an Air, a Pro and IMac, all are well suited to Navigation. We use our Air on board, our Pro for trip and route planning and our IMac for
Lightroom and Photishop.

The air is fine for email, viewing photographs, and everything but very high end photo editing.
MacBook Air has an 11" or 13" screen. Unless I missed a model I have to go with the MacBook Pro to get a 15" screen. Cheapest online price I found was $1800, about double a similar 15" PC laptop.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 20:00   #74
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,379
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

One thought to add. I have been using computers since 1980 when I bought an Apple II+. Bought my first IBM clone about ten years later.


I have considered Microsoft an annoying, bully of a company since I bought a PC to use with IBM OS2 but still had to pay an MS licensing fee on the machine. At that time the MS policy (later revoked after MS was sued and lost in court) forced all PC manufacturers that were MS customers pay for an OS on every machine sold. The justification, anyone buying a machine without an OS was going to pirate one from MS.

Seems like the MS BS is reaching the breaking point for me with Win10. I do think it's time for me to bite the bullet and start looking at some version of Linux. Ubuntu seems to be the current favorite. Maybe I'll take my old Win7 PC and play with that, after I get a new machine.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2016, 20:11   #75
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 378
Re: Windows: 7 or 10???

I generally run my desktop in a virtual. For a number of years, I've been running VMWare Workstation 8 on a Linux Mint/Mate 12.0 host, with a Windows 7 and a Linux Mint/Mate 13 virtual.

This week I've begun the process of updating my OSes. I've updated the Windows virtual to Windows 10. I've moved my host to Linux Mint/Mate 17.3, and updated VMWare to Workstation 12.

Have my backups configured and working, again, with the new configuration. Next, I'll be creating a new virtual, installing Linux Mint/Mate 17.3, and will begin the process of moving my various files, applications, and running processes from the old Linux virtual to the new.

There are a number of reasons I prefer running my primary desktops on virtuals:
  1. It makes backups easier.
  2. It makes moving everything onto new hardware after something gets fried easier.
  3. It means I don't have to shut everything down, before I get everything new started.
  4. It makes it easy to experiment - I'd moved to Mint after Ubuntu took a turn for the idiotic. I tested the latest Ubuntu, and it's not just still screwed up, it's worse.

The other thing I do, to make things easier, is to use only external hard drive trays. It makes things so much easier if I can swap drives around without having to open the case.
__________________

__________________
Jdege is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 4 stable and Windows Beta svzephyr44 OpenCPN 0 29-09-2015 11:46
Plastic Pilothouse Windows? froggman180 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 28 24-03-2010 08:49
Raytech RNS and Windows 7 and Windows XP kene66 Marine Electronics 2 23-02-2010 15:50
Deck Salon/Pilot House Windows and Safety Curtis Monohull Sailboats 1 17-07-2005 21:18
Sweating Windows 1sailaway Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 10-11-2004 10:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.