Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-11-2010, 15:38   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
Icom M802 Cable

Hi,

I am looking for help on setting up a cable for weather fax. Can someone point me to a picture or website on the installation?

Here is what Icom writes:

"A simple patch cable takes your SSB audio output
to your laptop’s sound card INPUT, and running a program like MSCAN
(
www.MSCAN.com) makes that twice a second sound turn into lines of
weather fax imagery! Your laptop does all the work without the need
of an expensive “black box” between your computer and your SSB’s

audio output."

Thanks,

Mike
__________________

__________________
wingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 15:40   #2
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 1,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Radio Shack, male 1/8" mono to mail 1/8" mono (stereo will do but some radios and laptops get cranky). 3 or 4 dollars.

I like JVComm better than MixW, but what the heck.
__________________

__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 16:07   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
Thanks for the reply. I had this cable but was told that I need a cable from the radio box (where the antenna connects) to the laptop, not the radio panel (where you have the dials) output.

Is this working for you on the m802?
__________________
wingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 16:11   #4
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 1,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingover View Post
Is this working for you on the m802?
Works.
__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 16:15   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
So you just plug it to the earphone output (above the volume button) and "line in" on the computer?

Thanks for your help
__________________
wingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 16:43   #6
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 1,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
In short, yes. If you don't have a line-in but only a mic-in you may need an attenuating cable - Radio Shack has those also for about 50 cents more.
__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 16:57   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
I guess thats the problem. I only have mic in no line in. I'll get the correct cable and give it a try.

Thank you for taking the time to help me.
__________________
wingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 17:09   #8
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 1,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Happy to help. Recognize I haven't used MixW, but getting the audio into the laptop at a reasonable level is the first step.

If you have trouble, send me a PM and we'll swap phone numbers and I'll talk you through as much as I can.
__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 18:41   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 718
Better to use the fixed audio ouput from the accessory jack on the transceiver. The level is fixed regardless of the volume control.

Eric
__________________
fairbank56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 18:54   #10
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 1,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
You can use the audio from the data jack, but on many installations that is a real pain to route. Most folk put the radio away from the nav station to reduce RFI issues.
__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 20:12   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 664
Anyone have a source at hand for that particular 8 pin DIN accessory plug? I'd like to be able to use my M802 for CW at times, and I need that same plug to do it.

Chip
__________________
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 20:29   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 664
Never mind, I think I found it at mouser.com, if anyone else might be interested:


Mouser Part #: 174-9281 Manufacturer Part #: 592-0801 Manufacturer: Deltron Description: DIN Connectors NICKEL 8 PIN
__________________
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2010, 04:21   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 718
Actually, you would want number 17HR618, the one without the locking ring. Or, if you happen to have a 7-pin connector around as I did, you can use that as you only need pins 1 and 2.

Eric
__________________
fairbank56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2011, 07:48   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Boat: Elan 37,Racing version
Posts: 42
Re: Icom M802 Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoonerSailor View Post
Anyone have a source at hand for that particular 8 pin DIN accessory plug? I'd like to be able to use my M802 for CW at times, and I need that same plug to do it.

Chip
Good afternoon,
when you say CW I suspect it also works for RTTY in which case can be nice to have in case your modem goes wrong.
Cheers.
On3CHD
__________________
ON3CHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2011, 10:19   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to Sheriff
Re: Icom M802 Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoonerSailor View Post
Anyone have a source at hand for that particular 8 pin DIN accessory plug? I'd like to be able to use my M802 for CW at times, and I need that same plug to do it.

Chip
ahhhhh yes c.w is not dead!
__________________

__________________
The Only Thing Necessary For Evil To Prevail Is For Good People To Do Notting!
Sheriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icom

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICOM M802 DSC antenna? Pa La O La Marine Electronics 45 28-02-2013 11:50
Installing an ICOM IC-M802 mestrezat Marine Electronics 92 23-01-2013 07:35
Icom M802 and Laptop rutherford Marine Electronics 13 25-12-2010 20:12
ICOM M802 Tuning Problem svcattales Marine Electronics 13 17-01-2009 18:51
ICOM M802 Self Install Kit... Radio University Marine Electronics 5 05-02-2007 05:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.