Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2015, 07:44   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

Sorry for a bit of a daft question but I have not been successful in my search for an answer.

I have a B&G Hydra 2000 system on my boat and I have just connected the GPS.
- How do I test if it works?
- How do I enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 system?

Thank you for any comments.

Fair Winds
__________________

__________________
Four_winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 08:19   #2
Registered User
 
leftbrainstuff's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Francisco and Australia
Boat: Liberty 458
Posts: 1,978
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

Do you not have the manuals?

You can download them from B&Gs site.

Have you contacted their tech support?

Sent from my SM-N900T using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________

__________________
leftbrainstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 08:29   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

Thank you for your comment!
I have read the manuals. They only give information on how to see information like: time to next WP, Speed over ground, distance to WP etc. Not how to enter a WP?

The Manual does not tell me how to test the GPS signal
__________________
Four_winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 09:25   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
River Cruiser's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 817
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

I can't tell you how to enter waypoints but if you turn on the plotter the screen should show a icon for the location of your boat. If it does that it would indicate the antenna is working as it should.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 09:42   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

Thank you for your comments!

The Hydra 2000 system is not connected to a plotter.
I use a PC for that and I have the GPS signal going into the computer and the VHF as well. That is up and running well.

I just don't know if I have connected the wires from the GPS to the Hydra system correctly.
__________________
Four_winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 10:30   #6
Registered User
 
Ericson38's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Virginia
Boat: Taswell 49 Cutter
Posts: 187
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

Using the manual at-

http://www.bandg.com/Documents/produ...epslanguage=de

Looks like page 4-16 shows how to input GPS position data via the NMEA-0183 interface format.

I think all the way point information is from the position fixer unit, being like a LORAN or GPS.

I don't think that you enter the waypoint coordinates into the Hydra.

All the sentences required for the various waypoint functions listed in the Hydra 2000 manual are from the position fixer unit, coming in over the NMEA interface. I think the Hydra is just parsing and allowing you to display this information from the external GPS, for instance.
__________________
Ericson38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 10:49   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

Thank you for the comments!

I have linked up the wires from the GPS according to the information on the page mentioned from the manual.

But how do I make a waypoint ? The manual have many references to waypoint. But how to define these WP??
__________________
Four_winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 11:17   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Winters cruising; summers Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Catana 471
Posts: 1,239
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

I have a Hydra 2000. Enter the Way Points into the GPS unit, which is separate from the Hydra 2000 unit. The Hydra 2000 then can use that info for the things it calculates.

Dave
__________________
2Hulls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 12:09   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

The GPS signal is received by an antenna. I do not have a "GPS unit" with any type of user interface. Only the GPS antenna which feed the position and time into the VHF, PC plotter.

Are you telling me that the Hydra 2000 system require another navigation unit in order to have the full use of it?
__________________
Four_winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 12:38   #10
Registered User
 
Ericson38's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Virginia
Boat: Taswell 49 Cutter
Posts: 187
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

All the waypoint sentences that it needs from the external nav unit (ie GPS receiver-plotter) are listed in section 6.6.

Your GPS puck is most likely providing time-position-velocity-heading data, but for the waypoint data to be displayed, you need to provide that to the Hydra 2000 via the listed standard NMEA0183 sentence structures.
__________________
Ericson38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 12:48   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

OK!
Understood!
Thank you!
__________________
Four_winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2015, 12:58   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Winters cruising; summers Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Catana 471
Posts: 1,239
Re: Howto enter waypoints in a Hydra 2000 B&G system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Four_winds View Post
Are you telling me that the Hydra 2000 system require another navigation unit in order to have the full use of it?
Well, sort of. The B&G unit receives and outputs the data from instruments, like your paddle wheel, wind speed and direction, depth, flux compass, etc. It doesn't "navigate" by it self. It will output position and SOG, etc. if it has this data (sentences) from a GPS source. If you are using a PC as a plotter or a stand alone GPS unit, that is where you would load way points, but you do need a separate unit to work with the info the GPS "antenna" is giving you. For example, the Hydra will output distance to a waypoint and ETA to a waypoint, but it needs to know what waypoint that is, which is the active waypoint you are using in the separate GPS unit. So yes, you are not getting full use of the Hydra unit without also having a GPS unit in the system to work with the GPS signal you're getting from the antenna.

Dave
__________________

__________________
2Hulls is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&G Hydra 2000 autopilot Fault 103 again! Help please. Peter200 Marine Electronics 8 18-02-2015 14:48
Sending wind data from B&G Hydra 2000 to Raymarine Autohelm Bucaniere Marine Electronics 2 19-09-2013 09:49
Help! B&G Hydra 2000 out of action!!! sepeteus Marine Electronics 4 12-02-2013 02:52
For Sale: B&G Hydra 2000 last items s/v Jedi Classifieds Archive 3 09-04-2012 11:14
For Sale: B&G Hydra 2000 System s/v Jedi Classifieds Archive 14 17-08-2011 08:12



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.