Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-08-2016, 00:42   #121

Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Re: Is Coppercoat anti foul worth it?

Perhaps, as Dave B suggested, movement of hull against bottom as the boat settles and re-floats abraids the copper oxides/salts off?
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2016, 02:08   #122

Boat: Beneteau, Oceanis 50 G5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenomac View Post
David,

How often did you need to dust off the bottom when the boat was sitting still in a Med marina or outside in an anchorage with lots of organic material? I've been using the cheap anti foul for the past two years which worked fine in the clear waters off Sardinia, but over here in the calm but no so clear waters of Montenegro and Italy, the marine growth explodes in just a couple of weeks. Barnacles are particularly bad.

Our boat will be in the Med for the next 6-8 years, is Coppercoat worth it? Our boat gets hauled out 6-7 months each year.

Ken
We noticed up the east coast of Sicily, there was more growth per month than in Malta or even Tunisia (where we sat for a full year going nowhere in a 'nutrient rich' marina - although the water was still pretty clear).

We were told the fouling around Ragusa was particularly bad, and certainly saw evidence of that on other boats. For us, end of season was enough, so 5 or so months in the water would seem to produce enough furring (green in Sicily, brown in Tunisia) to require an hour or so in the water with a scraper or brush, or else a haul out if you are going onto hard stand at the end of the season or need to change saildrive leg oil etc (gee I fretted for weeks that the plug I screwed back in was not going to unscrew itself one day ....).