Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2013, 07:57   #1

Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
Routing and how it's done

Hi there,

About a year ago I was looking for a new challenge/goal in my life. I found it in planning and preparing for a 1 year round-trip to the Caribbean in a S/V. Even though the whole plan is taking way more planning/research/work/preparation/... then initially thought, I'm loving every second of it. I've learned a million different things in the past few months, and I'm only getting started!

Over the last year I have learned to work on just about every part of my boat, I learned about sea survival, marine diesels, sailing in general, anchors, heavy weather sailing, communication while at sea, living aboard a boat and meteorology. One thing I cannot wrap my head around though is how to actually plan out a complete trip...

Studying meteorology made it very clear to me that the weather plays a huge roll in this and that certain weather systems/wind directions/... can be expected in certain areas at a certain time of year. Also the big currents of course play a big role in planning the major passages.

It's not making it to the other side of the big blue that I'm worried about though. What bothers me most at the moment is the big "where do we go once we get there?" question... What islands do we visit in what order? What places to see and where to stay away? Of course there is always more then one option, so how do you choose?