Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-08-2017, 09:45   #1

Need some help crossing the med

Hi there!

New in the forum, new in sailing!

I'm buying a 2003 Bavaria 44' in Turkey and must bring her to Portugal.

I'm planning the trip, but I know nothing (i mean really nothing) about the med and I have no experience in planning.

Do you know where can I find info?

Thanks
zaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2017, 14:18   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs
Re: Need some help crossing the med

Things a bit quiet over on SA?
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2017, 15:00   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!

head SW from turkey,turn right at cape kithera bash 1800 miles to windward,look for 2 big rocks ,pass between,carry on a further 170 miles to lagos or carry on a bit further then turn right again at cape st vincent then bash a few more hundred miles north to lisbon........... do this all before the end of october.........what could possibly go wrong.

my services are available if you need a delivery skipper
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2017, 15:10   #4

Boat: Grand Soleil 52

Hi zaco
Congratulations with your new boat! As you are new to sailing, I recommend you to take your time and don’t rush. If you do it right, you will have some of your best experiences in life in this boat. But if you do it wrong, you may also have your worst nightmares.