Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-10-2019, 16:52   #1

Boat: Boreal 47
Anchor chain stretch?

I am wondering if any of all you smart people know how much anchor chain stretches under load? I am doing some calculations on dynamic loads on anchoring gear and chain stretch may play an important part in this, even if it stretches much less than the snubber being used.

Any input would be most welcome. I did e-mail a couple of chain manufacturers but have not heard back yet.
BjarneK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2019, 17:04   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Anchor chain stretch?

I would look up and I’m no Engineer so please take that into account, but I believe it’s called the modulus of elasticity of steel, I’d look for plain ole 4130 which is a very common mild steel, but still good steel.
I think you’ll find that realistically we don’t have much stretch at all, pretty much zero stretch in any realistic common anchoring load
I’d figure that 5/16 chain is 5/8” as it has two pieces.
That should be for the weaker BBB chain or so and not the heat treated higher grades, which of course are even stronger.

Now that’s Jim Bob way of doing it, and isn’t meant to determine how much exactly, but meant to show that it’s pretty much zero.

Then just as a trivia statement, steel has greater elasticity than rubber does, which surprises most people until they understand what elasticity is.
I have no idea how much stretch the zinc coating would do before it failed either.

On edit, there is some stretch of course, but I think it is minuscule as in difficult to measure.