Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2015, 04:16   #211
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.
Re: Why no Residential Fridges?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuM View Post
That is the fundamental mistake you keep making and is the cause of all of this discussion. While gallon is closely related to volume. Ampere is NOT. It is closely related to Gallons per minute - it is the equivalent to Coulombs per second where the Coulomb is the equivalent of a Gallon (As clearly pointed out above, Coulombs can be directly converted to Amp Hours - not to Amps).

Gallons per minute has everything to do with speed. For a given pipe, the more gallons per minute you put through, the faster the water flows.
I won't get involved with fluids and such as I am not that good with them - apart from the beverages that is .

But I note that much of this thread is a units and dimensions and interestingly (to me at least), a Coulomb although the equivalent of 1 Ampere second is actually considered to be dimensionless quantity.

So comparing Coulombs to gallons may not be helpful.

Time for bed
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 04:47   #212
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV THIRD DAY View Post
Back in 1885 Sir Edmond Burbank was the first to discover that the longer an argument goes, the further is drifts from the topic.

I hope everyone has now learned a good lesson in how internet chat rooms work.