Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2010, 09:38   #1

Dripless Stuffing Box Help

Hi, I'm new to diesels/inboards and recently purchased my boat, and as such am in need of some advice. My " dripless " stuffing box drips quite quickly when in gear - when not turning, it is tight. My guess is the seal (or seals?) need to be replaced. Some questions.

1) Can anyone identify this style of stuffing box, and provide advice on changing it out and where to get the replacement parts?

2) Can this be done in the water......I do not plan a haulout for the next 6-12 months but want to get this done ASAP if possible. I'm willing to pay the right person if it saves me hauling.

3) Does dripless really mean totally dripless?

Engine is a Westerbeke 4-107 in a 42' steel boat.

Thanks in advance,

Evan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0777.jpg
Views:	640
Size:	397.3 KB
ID:	20877   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0778.jpg
Views:	494
Size:	400.0 KB
ID:	20878  

Uncle Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 09:50   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Evan, You are not going to replace this in the water and in my opinion it is in serious need of replacement. And yes dripless means just that. We installed a dripless system and are very pleased we did. You are going to get a lot of mixed comments so I won't add my opinion as to the merits. If this were my boat, I would get this replaced ASAP. Here is a posting on the one we installed, http://tinyurl.com/24h8np6
Chuck

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 10:38   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31
Evan, we have the Volvo seal and dusty bilges which now require a can of Mr Sheen polish to keep the dust down