Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2013, 09:10   #1

Boat: Beneteau First 235
PFD Recommendations?

Hi there!

I am PFD-less and really could use a little guidance in shopping for one. I'm a short gal, barely 5'3 and 120 lbs. I need a comfortable, inflatable PFD, with a harness that would keep my head above water should I get knocked unconscious. I will be on the open water.

Ideally I would like to physically go shopping, but I am not sure if retailers in my area will have what I need. I would hope so, being that I'm in S. FL, but I'm new to sailing and I don't know where to go. I don't mind shopping online, but it sure would be nice to try before I buy.

Based on my build, can anyone recommend a specific PFD that might work for me?

Thanks a million!

~Lauren
Gray Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:01   #2

Boat: Roughwater, pilot house, 58 ft
Re: PFD Recommendations?

The type of life vest depends on your type of boating. Most vest are rate for type of boating. water sports, recreational, off shore and rated for buoyancy/person weight. The inflatable are becoming the more popular vest as they are not as bulky. Most vest are designed to keep you face up, floating on your back.

For a good offshore with harness you are looking at 200 to 300 dollares. Mustang is poplar for the type of vest you are looking for. However, Mustang does make vest that are sold under West Marine that is a little cheaper.There is probable a West Marina/general marina store close to you that can size/fit you.
rw58ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:11   #3

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
+1 for west marine or any other boat store too.

By the way. Only one post is needed all of your threads are visible now and it's a little annoying.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:14   #4