Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Families, Kids and Pets Afloat
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2009, 21:31   #1

Need Women's Opinions - New Liveaboard Couple

Hey Everyone,
I am new to the idea of living aboard. I mean, I am fairly new to the idea, Ive known about it under 18 months. My girlfriend and I are living together quite peacefully in a good sized house and we have also lived in a much smaller apartment comfortably.

So, Other than the obvious things, what can I do to help her transition to a livaboard a comfortable one?

Thanks
DB
CaptBrosnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2009, 21:59   #2

Boat: Hans Christian 36'
Quick question before we start offering all kinds of advice, is she open to the idea or are you going to try to persuade her?
Red Charlotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2009, 23:27   #3

Boat: Searunner 34 and Searunner Constant Camber 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Charlotte View Post
Quick question before we start offering all kinds of advice, is she open to the idea or are you going to try to persuade her?
There's a good question. Let me add this one: have you asked your girlfriend the same question?

Maren

The sea is always beautiful, sometimes mysterious and, on occasions, frighteningly powerful.
Maren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2009, 07:14   #4

Maren,
she is excited about going but worried about not knowing navigation well enough. I have limited navigation skills an nothing near the magnitude of this adventure. So she is onboard . we have both completly freed up our schedules job wise I will be working from th boat via wifi.

Thanks,
DB
Old 30-06-2009, 07:28   #5

Boat: Farrier f27