Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2014, 23:32   #1

Nice to meet you all!

Hi there,
I am Adam 27 years old, and about to purchase my first sailboat (Cal 25). I am looking for friendly faces in the San Francisco Bay Area in the sailing community. I have very little sailing experience, but have done some reading. I hoping to find a few people that would be able to give me some lessons (Id pay of course).

Hope to meet some amazing people on here! :-)
AdamNSheana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 23:43   #2

Boat: Catalina 36, Mk I
Re: Nice to meet you all!

Well, I am pretty far south of you so I doubt I would be much in IRL help. Welcome though!
Old 06-06-2014, 23:44   #3

Just a little ways away. lol. How did you get into sailing?
Old 07-06-2014, 00:14   #4

Boat: Catalina 36, Mk I

When I left the Navy, I planned to buy a boat. Considered power which I was used to. Deep down though, sails always drew my attention. My dad raced sailboats back in the 60's and 70's and he had friends with that would take us out and about when I was very young. Sort of got into my blood I guess. Friends and I used to rent small sailboats in the bay and mess around when we were in port. Finally decided to trip the trigger and buy my own. That was in 1995...it just took a bunch of years to actually make it happen.

I am still learning sail trim. Not hard to get it moving, but getting things tuned well takes a lot of practice. The piloting aspect is easy enough. Have experience on the water. What is different for me is the keel. Thirty Six Seas will turn inside of its own length. Freaked me out a little the first time I threw the helm hard over. Never had any of the motor launches react that way.